Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

World Cup rosters revealed March 2

by Staff Writer / Calgary Flames

NEW YORK, NY -- Team USA will announce its initial 16-man roster for the 2016 World Cup of Hockey during ESPN SportsCenter on Wednesday, March 2, at 4:45 PM MT.

All eight teams competing in the World Cup will reveal their preliminary rosters on March 2, with SportsNet's Hockey Central broadcasting the announcements for Team Europe (2:30 PM MT), Team North America (3:15 PM MT) and Team Canada (4:05 PM MT), as part of a live, three-hour special beginning at 2:00 PM MT.

Team Sweden will make its announcement during a press conference at the MSG Training Center in Tarrytown, N.Y., at 10:30 PM MT.

Team Russia will unveil its roster via press release at 1:00 AM MT; Team Finland will hold a press conference in Helsinki at 2:00 AM MT; and Team Czech Republic will hold a press conference in Prague at 9:00 AM MT.

The World Cup will take place in Toronto and run Sept. 17 through Oct. 1. All games will be played at Air Canada Centre. The games will be aired ESPN in the United States, and Sportsnet and TVA Sports in Canada.

The format will feature eight teams separated into two groups for a preliminary round from Sept. 17-22.

The top two finishers in each group will advance to the semifinals Sept. 24-25.

The winners meet in a best-of-three Final with games played on Sept. 27, Sept. 29 and, if necessary, Oct 1.

Group A will consist of Team Canada, Team Czech Republic, Team USA and Team Europe, which will be comprised of the top players from countries outside the four European countries already competing in the tournament (Czech Republic, Finland, Sweden and Russia).

Group B features Team Russia, Team Finland, Team Sweden and Team North America, which will be comprised of the top North American players who will be 23 years old or younger as of Oct. 1, 2016.

View More