Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Walter cleans up at Heat Team Player Awards

by Staff Writer / Calgary Flames

ABBOTSFORD, BC -- The Abbotsford Heat annual Team Player Awards were presented prior to puck drop on Sunday’s final home game of the season.

Ben Walter was the big winner claiming both the Team MVP Award and the Fan Favorite Award. Walter leads the Heat in scoring with 46 points in 66 games and needs four points in the final two games for his seventh consecutive 50-point season. Walter is the Heat’s franchise all-time leader in points and assists.

T.J. Brodie was named Top Defenceman, and Sven Baertschi won Top Rookie; both are up with the Calgary Flames. Brodie recorded 20 points in 35 games prior to the beginning of the NHL season while Baertschi posted 26 points in 32 appearances with the team.

Zach McKelvie won the Community Man of the Year Award and was earlier named the Heat’s winner of the AHL IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year award for his outstanding contributions to the Abbotsford community during the 2012-13 season. McKelvie is one of 30 nominees for the AHL’s Man of the Year Award as a result.

Following Sunday’s game the Heat’s Booster Club – ‘Heat Generation’ – named Danny Taylor the winner of the inaugural Booster Club Award. Taylor has 18 wins in 40 appearances with the Heat sporting a 2.05 GAA and a Save Percentage of .922.

View More