Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames


Treliving has been named the recipient of the PHPA Curt Leichner Distinguished Member Award


The Professional Hockey Players' Association (PHPA) is pleased to announce that Brad Treliving has been selected as the 2017 recipient of the PHPA Curt Leichner Distinguished Member Award as voted by the PHPA Executive Committee. 

The award, named in honour of former PHPA Executive Director, Curt Leichner, is presented annually to a member of the hockey community who has made significant contributions towards the advancement of professional minor league hockey, and has continued to diligently serve the sport. 

A native of Penticton, British Columbia, Treliving played five seasons of professional hockey from 1990 - 1995 primarily spent in the ECHL (formerly the East Coast Hockey League). During his playing career, a group of ECHL players lead by Treliving approached the PHPA to initiate the representation process for ECHL players to become Members of the PHPA. At the behest of Executive Director, Larry Landon, Treliving was invited to speak at the PHPA Annual Meeting of Player Representatives, where American Hockey League and International Hockey League Player Representatives unanimously approved the effort to unionize ECHL players.

The input and involvement from the group of ECHL players, headed by Treliving who was part of the initial PHPA Negotiating Committee, helped standardize housing, per diem, and ensured basic essentials to improve the players' professional hockey experience.

Shortly after his retirement as a player, in 1996 Treliving co-founded the Western Professional Hockey League (WPHL), where he served as President and Director of Hockey Operations until 2001 when the league merged with the Central Hockey League (CHL). He continued to serve as President of the CHL until 2003, when he was hired as the Assistant General Manager of the Phoenix Coyotes, a post he held until April, 2014 when he was named General Manager of the Calgary Flames.

"Not many players would have the fortitude, the wherewithal, and willingness to sacrifice their career back then like Brad Treliving did," said PHPA Executive Director Larry Landon. "What Brad did for the sake of future players has had a profound impact on the professional hockey landscape, and has since lead to the PHPA having a solid working relationship with the ECHL. He is extremely deserving of this honour."

"It is an honour to be the recipient of the Curt Leichner Distinguished Member Award," said Brad Treliving. "I want to thank the Professional Hockey Players' Association and its Executive Committee for such and wish them continued success."

Treliving will be presented with the Award this June during the 2017 PHPA Annual Meeting of Player Representatives, when the PHPA kicks off it's 50th Anniversary celebrations. Previous recipients include Doug Messier (2008), Don Cherry and Ron MacLean (2009), Arlo Goodwin (2010), Darcy Regier (2011), Ron Jaros (2012), Claude Julien (2013), Ted Nolan (2014), Karen Bender (2015), and Rick Gorman and Phil Mazzone (2016).

View More