Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Stajan named 2013 Ralph T. Scurfield Humanitarian Award

by Staff Writer / Calgary Flames

CALGARY, AB -- The Calgary Flames Hockey Club announced today that Matt Stajan has been named the recipient of the Ralph T. Scurfield Humanitarian Award. The Scurfield Award is presented each year to the Flames player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, determination and leadership on the ice, combined with dedication to community service. Stajan will receive the award this evening in a ceremony prior to the Flames game against the Columbus Blue Jackets.

“I am honoured to have been selected as the recipient of the Scurfield Award this season,” said Stajan. “My wife Katie and I would like to thank the Flames organization and specifically our ownership group for helping make Calgary our home and providing us the opportunity to be involved in so many important community initiatives.

Stajan came to the Flames organization in January 2010. Since arriving in Calgary, Stajan has been a valuable asset both on and off the ice. Stajan quickly aligned himself with the Alberta Children’s Hospital (ACH) taking over responsibilities of the Flames Ambassador for the hospital. Since then, he has personally donated season tickets each year to the ACH to give patients, family members and even hospital volunteers the opportunity to watch a Flames game. He has also visited the hospital on multiple occasions with his wife Katie where both actively volunteer with bingo nights and with their annual radio-a-thon. On the ice this year, Stajan has collected 18 points from 3 goals and 15 assists.

Stajan becomes the 25th recipient of the Ralph T. Scurfield Humanitarian Award, joining Curtis Glencross (2011-12), Cory Sarich (2010-11), Craig Conroy (2009-10), David Moss (2008-09), Dion Phaneuf (2007-08), Rhett Warrener (2005-06, 2006-07), Martin Gelinas (2003-04), Denis Gauthier (2002-03), Jarome Iginla (2000-01, 2001-02), Robyn Regehr (1999-00), Ed Ward (1997-98, 1998-99), Mike Sullivan (1996-97), Gary Roberts (1995-96), Al MacInnis (1993-94), Joel Otto (1992-93), Bob Johnson (posthumously, 1991-92), Jamie Macoun (1990-91), Tim Hunter (1989-90), Lanny McDonald (1986-87, 1988-89), and Jim Peplinski (1987-88).

In February 1985, Ralph Scurfield Sr., co-owner of the Calgary Flames, was tragically lost in a heli-skiing accident. He was recognized as a leader in the Calgary business community and a builder of the University of Calgary business programs. Scurfield was a true supporter of all sports, and a believer in community involvement.

View More