Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Sportsnet to carry all Flames games in 2016-17

by Staff Writer / Calgary Flames

TORONTO, ON -- Summer may be winding down but things are about to get red hot on Sportsnet, with the network announcing its 2016-17 Calgary Flames broadcast schedule, delivering all 82 regular season games on TV as well as on radio with Sportsnet 960 The FAN.

Sportsnet’s 2016-17 Flames TV broadcast package – featuring 37 national broadcasts and 45 regional broadcasts – kicks off on Wednesday, Oct. 12, the opening night of the NHL season, as the Flames visit the Edmonton Oilers at 8 p.m. MT on Sportsnet for the first regular season NHL game ever to be played at Rogers Place. (See full broadcast details below).

Fans can also stream all national and regional Flames games live across the country. Flames fans within the team’s regional broadcast territory can now stream regional broadcasts with Sportsnet NOW, as well as all national Flames games that are broadcast on Sportsnet, Sportsnet ONE or Sportsnet 360. Calgary Flames fans outside of the team’s regional broadcast territory can stream all 82 games, national and out-of-market, on Rogers NHL GameCentre LIVE.*

On TV – Regional

Sportsnet West will be home to 34 regional Flames matchups this season, with an additional 11 regional broadcasts airing on the Sportsnet ONE companion channel, Sportsnet Flames. The 2016-17 regional broadcast schedule begins on Tuesday, Oct. 18 as the Flames host the Buffalo Sabres at 7 p.m. MT on Sportsnet Flames.

Rick Ball returns to the broadcast booth to call play-by-play alongside analyst Kelly Hrudey and host Roger Millions. Eric Francis also joins the Flames broadcast team this season, providing additional commentary for home games.

Highlights from Sportsnet’s regional Calgary Flames broadcast schedule include:

- Seven Pacific Division matchups; including two games against the 2016 Western Conference Champion San Jose Sharks

- Seven all-Canadian matchups; including two games each against the Vancouver Canucks, Ottawa Senators and Montreal Canadiens and one vs. the Toronto Maple Leafs

- Two showdowns with the defending Stanley Cup Champion Pittsburgh Penguins

On TV – National

Sportsnet will broadcast 37 national Calgary Flames games this season, featured prominently on Sportsnet’s three marquee national nights: Hockey Night in Canada on Saturdays – hockey’s biggest night, Rogers Hometown Hockey on Sundays and Scotiabank Wednesday Night Hockey on Wednesdays. Highlights from the Flames national broadcast schedule include:

- 13 games on Hockey Night in Canada, including two Battle of Alberta matchups vs. the Edmonton Oilers and three Saturday night showdowns against the Vancouver Canucks (channel allocations to be announced on a weekly basis)

- Eight appearances on Scotiabank Wednesday Night Hockey, including opening night of the NHL season

- One appearance on Rogers Hometown Hockey’s Sunday night marquee matchup on Sportsnet on Sunday, Nov. 20 when the Flames visit the Detroit Red Wings

On Radio – Sportsnet 960 The FAN

Sportsnet 960 The FAN is the exclusive home of Calgary Flames radio broadcasts this season. Derek Wills returns to call the play-by-play for all Flames radio broadcasts, alongside analyst Peter Loubardias.

Sportsnet 960 The FAN also has coverage of Calgary Flames pre-season games beginning Monday, Sept. 26.

In addition to Sportsnet’s Calgary Flames regional TV broadcasts, Sportsnet will deliver exclusive coverage of more than 450 national and regional NHL games this season. Headlined by the launch of the NHL’s Centennial Season, Sportsnet’s 2016-17 schedule will deliver premium Canadian match-ups chock full of NHL star power, two outdoor games in Canada including the NHL Heritage Classic in Winnipeg and the NHL Centennial Classic in Toronto on New Year’s Day, the Bridgestone NHL Winter Classic, the NHL Stadium Series, the 2017 NHL All-Star Game in Los Angeles and the 17th annual Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada – all culminating with the 2017 Stanley Cup Playoffs and Stanley Cup Final.

As home of hockey’s brightest stars, Sportsnet is also the official regional television broadcast rights holder for the Montreal Canadiens (English-language Canadian coverage), Edmonton Oilers, Toronto Maple Leafs (including radio rights on Sportsnet 590 The FAN) and Vancouver Canucks.

Note: Regional restrictions apply in Rogers NHL GameCentre LIVE when a Flames out-of-market game is considered an in-market game within their opponent’s local territory.

Calgary Flames 2016-17 TV Broadcast Schedule

*Channel allocations for Hockey Night in Canada to be announced on a weekly basis

** All national & out-of-market games will also be available for live streaming on Rogers NHL GameCentre LIVE

*** All national & regional (in market) games broadcast on Sportsnet, Sportsnet ONE, or Sportsnet 360 are also available for live streaming on Sportsnet NOW

Note: Schedule is subject to change

October 2016

- Wednesday, Oct. 12, Calgary @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)

- Friday, Oct. 14, Edmonton @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)

- Saturday, Oct. 15, Calgary @ Vancouver, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in - Tuesday, Oct. 18, Buffalo @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Flames)

- Thursday, Oct. 20, Carolina @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Flames)

- Saturday, Oct. 22, St. Louis @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

- Monday, Oct. 24, Calgary @ Chicago, 6:30 p.m. MT / 8:30 p.m. ET (Sportsnet)

- Tuesday, Oct. 25, Calgary @ St. Louis, 6 p.m. MT / 8 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Flames)

- Friday, Oct. 28, Ottawa @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Flames)

- Sunday, Oct. 30, Washington @ Calgary, 6:30 p.m. MT / 8:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Flames)

November 2016

- Tuesday, Nov. 1, Calgary @ Chicago, 6:30 p.m. MT / 8:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Flames)

- Thursday, Nov. 3, Calgary @ San Jose, 8:30 p.m. MT / 10:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet 360)

- Saturday, Nov. 5, Calgary @ Los Angeles, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

- Sunday, Nov. 6, Calgary @ Anaheim, 8:30 p.m. MT / 10:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet 360)

- Thursday, Nov. 10, Dallas @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Flames)

- Saturday, Nov. 12, NY Rangers @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

- Tuesday, Nov. 15, Calgary @ Minnesota, 6 p.m. MT / 8 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Wednesday, Nov. 16, Arizona @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet West, Pacific and 360)

- Friday, Nov. 18, Chicago @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Sunday, Nov. 20, Calgary @ Detroit, 5:30 p.m. MT / 7:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)

- Monday, Nov. 21, Calgary @ Buffalo, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Wednesday, Nov. 23, Calgary @ Columbus, 5 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet West)

- Friday, Nov. 25, Calgary @ Boston, 5:30 p.m. MT / 7:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Sunday, Nov. 27, Calgary @ Philadelphia, 5 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Monday, Nov. 28, Calgary @ NY Islanders, 5 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Wednesday, Nov. 30, Toronto @ Calgary, 6:30 p.m. MT / 8:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)

December 2016

- Friday, Dec. 2, Minnesota @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Sunday, Dec.4, Anaheim @ Calgary, 7:30 p.m. MT / 9:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)

- Tuesday, Dec. 6, Calgary @ Dallas, 6:30 p.m. MT / 8:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Flames)

- Thursday, Dec. 8, Calgary @ Arizona, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Flames)

- Saturday, Dec. 10, Winnipeg @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

- Wednesday, Dec. 14, Tampa Bay @ Calgary, 7:30 p.m. MT / 9:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)

- Friday, Dec. 16, Columbus @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Monday, Dec. 19, Calgary @ Arizona, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Flames)

- Tuesday, Dec. 20, Calgary @ San Jose, 8:30 p.m. MT / 10:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Friday, Dec. 23, Vancouver @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Tuesday, Dec. 27, Calgary @ Colorado, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Thursday, Dec. 29, Anaheim @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet 360)

- Saturday, Dec. 31, Arizona @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

January 2017

- Wednesday, Jan. 4, Colorado @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Friday, Jan. 6, Calgary @ Vancouver, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Saturday, Jan. 7, Vancouver @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

- Monday, Jan. 9, Calgary @ Winnipeg, 6 p.m. MT / 8 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Wednesday, Jan. 11, San Jose @ Calgary, 7:30 p.m. MT / 9:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)

- Friday, Jan. 13, New Jersey @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Saturday, Jan. 14, Calgary @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

- Tuesday, Jan. 17, Florida @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Thursday, Jan. 19, Nashville @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Saturday, Jan. 21, Edmonton @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

- Monday, Jan. 23, Calgary @ Toronto, 5:30 p.m. MT / 7:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Tuesday, Jan. 24, Calgary @ Montreal, 5:30 p.m. MT / 7:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Thursday, Jan. 26, Calgary @ Ottawa, 5:30 p.m. MT / 7:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

February 2017

- Wednesday, Feb. 1, Minnesota @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet West, Pacific and 360)

- Friday, Feb. 3, Calgary @ New Jersey, 5:30 p.m. MT / 7:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Sunday, Feb. 5, Calgary @ NY Rangers, Noon MT / 2 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet 360)

- Tuesday, Feb. 7, Calgary @ Pittsburgh, 5 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Monday, Feb. 13, Arizona @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Wednesday, Feb. 15, Philadelphia @ Calgary, 7:30 p.m. MT / 9:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet 360)

- Saturday, Feb. 18, Calgary @ Vancouver, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada)

- Tuesday, Feb. 21, Calgary @ Nashville, 6 p.m. MT / 8 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)

- Thursday, Feb. 23, Calgary @ Tampa Bay, 5:30 p.m. MT / 7:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Friday, Feb. 24, Calgary @ Florida, 5:30 p.m. MT / 7:30 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Sunday, Feb. 26, Calgary @ Carolina, 1 p.m. MT / 3 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Tuesday, Feb. 28, Los Angeles @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)

March 2017

- Friday, March 3, Detroit @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Sunday, March 5, NY Islanders @ Calgary, 2 p.m. MT / 4 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Thursday, March 9, Montreal @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Saturday, March 11, Calgary @ Winnipeg, 5 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

- Monday, March 13, Pittsburgh @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Wednesday, March 15, Boston @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)

- Friday, March 17, Dallas @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Sunday, March 19, Los Angeles @ Calgary, 7:30 p.m. MT / 9:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)

- Tuesday, March 21, Calgary @ Washington, 5 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Thursday, March 23, Calgary @ Nashville, 6 p.m. MT / 8 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet Flames)

- Saturday, March 25, Calgary @ St. Louis, 5 p.m. MT / 7 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

- Monday, March 27, Colorado @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

- Wednesday, March 29, Los Angeles @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet)

- Friday, March 31, San Jose @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional – Sportsnet West)

April 2017

- Sunday, April 2, Anaheim @ Calgary, 7:30 p.m. MT / 9:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)

- Tuesday, April 4, Calgary @ Anaheim, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet ONE)

- Thursday, April 6, Calgary @ Los Angeles, 8:30 p.m. MT / 10:30 p.m. ET (National – Sportsnet 360)

- Saturday, April 8, Calgary @ San Jose, 8 p.m. MT / 10 p.m. ET (National – Hockey Night in Canada)

View More