Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Phaneuf and Kiprusoff placed on all-star team

by Staff Writer / Calgary Flames
Untitled Document

Get your tickets today at COOP locations and


Feb. 4, 2007 at the Pengrowth Saddledome

Sophmore defenceman Dion Phaneuf and goalie Miikka Kiprusoff will represent the Calgary Flames at the 2007 NHL All-Star Game, Wednesday, Jan. 24 at American Airlines Center in Dallas.

They were amoing 15 players named to the game on Saturday by the NHL.

They are among eight players added to the Western Conference roster who will be making their All-Star Game debut. The others are defenseman Lubomir Visnovsky of the Los Angeles Kings, and forwards Martin Havlat of the Chicago Blackhawks, Yanic Perreault of the Phoenix Coyotes, Brian Rolston of the Minnesota Wild, Ryan Smyth of the Edmonton Oilers and Henrik Zetterberg of the Detroit Red Wings.

Others named to the Western Conference roster were forward Teemu Selanne of the Anaheim Ducks, defenceman Phillipe Boucher and goalie Marty Turco of the Dallas Stars, defenseman Kimmo Timonen of the Nashville Predators and forwards Bill Guerin of the St. Louis Blues, Patrick Marleau of the San Jose Sharks and Rick Nash of the Columbus Blue Jackets.

The roster additions were selected by the NHL’s Hockey Operations Department, after consultation with League General Managers.

The players selected Saturday join six other players voted by fans to the starting lineup: Joe Sakic of the Colorado Avalanche, Joe Thornton and Jonathan Cheechoo of the Sharks, defensemen Scott Niedermayer of the Ducks and Nicklas Lidstrom of the Red Wings, and goaltender Roberto Luongo of the Vancouver Canucks.


* Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks
Miikka Kiprusoff, Calgary Flames
Marty Turco, Dallas Stars

* Scott Niedermayer, Anaheim Ducks  
* Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings  
Philippe Boucher, Dallas Stars 
Dion Phaneuf, Calgary Flames  
Kimmo Timonen, Nashville Predators 
Lubomir Visnovsky, Los Angeles Kings 

* Joe Thornton, San Jose Sharks 
* Joe Sakic, Colorado Avalanche
* Jonathan Cheechoo, San Jose Sharks 
Bill Guerin, St. Louis Blues 
Martin Havlat, Chicago Blackhawks
Patrick Marleau, San Jose Sharks  
Rick Nash, Columbus Blue Jackets  
Yanic Perreault, Phoenix Coyotes 
Brian Rolston, Minnesota Wild  
Teemu Selanne, Anaheim Ducks 
Ryan Smyth, Edmonton Oilers  
Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit Red Wings

* voted by fans to the Western Conference All-Star Team’s starting lineup


View More