Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Mangiapane, Andersson on OHL All-Star teams

by Torie Peterson / Calgary Flames

The accolades for Calgary Flames prospects Rasmus Andersson and Andrew Mangiapane continue to roll in.

The Barrie Colts pair were named to OHL All-Star teams on Thursday. Andersson was one of five skaters named to the First Team All-Stars roster. Mangiapane was named to the Second Team All-Stars roster.

Andersson led all OHL defencemen in scoring in 2015-16, netting nine goals and 60 points in 64 regular season skates. Mangiapane was sixth in the OHL scoring race with 51 goals and 106 points.

The Flames drafted the pair in the 2016 NHL Draft, taking Andersson in the second round (45th overall) and Mangiapane in the sixth round (166th overall).

The OHL All-Star Teams were selected by the OHL’s general ganagers. Players were voted on by position and received five points for a first place vote, three for a second place vote, and one for a third place vote. In the case of defencemen, the top two selections received five points, the third and fourth selections received three points, and the fifth and sixth selections each received a single point.

2015-16 OHL All-Star Teams (voting points listed following team):

First Team All-Stars:

C – Christian Dvorak (London Knights) 62

LW – Matthew Tkachuk (London Knights) 56

RW – Mitch Marner (London Knights) 71 – voted 1st team in 2014-15

D – Mikhail Sergachev (Windsor Spitfires) 64

D – Rasmus Andersson (Barrie Colts) 61 – voted 2nd team in 2014-15

G – Mackenzie Blackwood (Barrie Colts) 49

Coach – Kris Knoblauch (Erie Otters) 73

Second Team All-Stars:

C – Mike Amadio (North Bay Battalion) 61

LW – Andrew Mangiapane (Barrie Colts) 46

RW – Kevin Labanc (Barrie Colts) 69

D – Travis Dermott (Erie Otters) 50

D – Jakob Chychrun (Sarnia Sting) 42 – voted 3rd team in 2014-15

G – Devin Williams (Erie Otters) 47

Coach – Rocky Thompson (Windsor Spitfires) 36

Third Team All-Stars:

C – Dylan Strome (Erie Otters) 51 – voted 2nd team in 2014-15

LW – Alexander Nylander (Mississauga Steelheads) 34

RW – Alex DeBrincat (Erie Otters) 22 – voted 2nd team in 2014-15

D – Olli Juolevi (London Knights) 38

D – Roland McKeown (Kingston Frontenacs) 37

G – Alex Nedeljkovic (Niagara IceDogs) 46 – voted 3rd team in 2014-15, 1st team in 2013-14

Coach – Mike Van Ryn (Kitchener Rangers) 22

View More