Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Langkow named Masterton candidate

by Staff Writer / Calgary Flames

CALGARY, AB -- Calgary Flames forward Daymond Langkow has been nominated for the prestigious Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy by the Calgary chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA). The annual award goes to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

Langkow sustained a neck injury on March 21, 2010 against the Minnesota Wild and missed the final 10 games of the 2009-10 season and 78 games of the Flames current campaign. He returned to the Flames line-up on April 1st at St. Louis.

"On more then one occasion, it appeared Daymond Langkow's NHL career was over. Since suffering a horrible neck injury last season, the Calgary Flames centre was twice forced to stop working out in the hopes of return. However, after more than a year since being hit on the spine by a puck and suffering a fractured vertebra, Langkow returned to action this past weekend and immediately had an impact for the Flames during their playoff drive. Langkow, who has more than 1,000 NHL games under his belt, resumed his career in Friday's 3-2 win over the St. Louis Blues, and recorded an assist in his first game back. In two games this season, the 34-year-old has one point and a plus-2 rating." - Calgary chapter of the PHWA

The trophy was presented by the NHL Writers' Association in 1968 to commemorate the late William Masterton, a player for the Minnesota North Stars who exhibited, to a high degree, the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. Masterton died on Jan. 15, 1968 after an injury sustained during a hockey game.

The winner is selected in a poll of all chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season.

A grant from the PHWA is awarded annually to the Bill Masterton Scholarship Fund, based in Bloomington, Minn., in the name of the Masterton Trophy winner.

Two Flames have won the trophy, Lanny McDonald in 1983 and Gary Roberts in 1996.

View More