Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Klimchuk invited to Canada’s National Junior Team Sport Chek summer development camp

by Torie Peterson / Calgary Flames

CALGARY, AB -- Calgary Flames 2013 first round pick Morgan Klimchuk is amongst the 41 players invited to Hockey Canada’s National Junior Team Sport Chek summer development camp.

The camp will run from Aug. 3-8 in Brossard, Montreal and Sherbrooke, Quebec and will feature games against players from Russia and the Czech Republic. It is the first step in Hockey Canada's evaluation process for the 2015 World Junior Championship roster.

The 41 invitees were selected by head scout of the men’s Program of Excellence Ryan Jankowski, Hockey Canada vice-president of hockey operations Scott Salmond and the Program of Excellence management group including Sean Burke and Bruce Hamilton.

Klimchuk scored 30 goals and 74 points in 57 regular season games with the Regina Pats. He chipped in with three goals and five points in four postseason dates as well. After his WHL season concluded, he was assigned to the Abbotsford Heat of the AHL. He suited up for four games with the Flames AHL affiliate.

Klimchuk signed a three-year entry-level deal with the Flames on Dec. 17, 2013.

The Flames selected the Calgary, AB native 28th overall last summer.


GOALTENDERS: Eric Comrie (Winnipeg), Philippe Desrosiers (Dallas), Zachary Fucale (Montreal), Tristan Jarry (Pittsburgh).

DEFENCEMEN: Chris Bigras (Colorado), Madison Bowey (Washington), Aaron Ekblad (2014 draft-eligible), Haydn Fleury (2014 draft-eligible), Ben Harpur (Ottawa), Dillon Heatherington (Columbus), Roland McKeown (2014 draft-eligible), Samuel Morin (Philadelphia), Josh Morrissey (Winnipeg), Darnell Nurse (Edmonton), Travis Sanheim (2014 draft-eligible), Shea Theodore (Anaheim).

FORWARDS: Nick Baptiste (Buffalo), Sam Bennett (2014 draft-eligible), Tyler Bertuzzi (Detroit), Greg Chase (Edmonton), Michael Dal Colle (2014 draft-eligible), Jason Dickinson (Dallas), Max Domi (Phoenix), Jonathan Drouin (Tampa Bay), Anthony Duclair (NYR), Robby Fabbri (2014 draft-eligible), Frédérik Gauthier (Toronto), Jérémy Gregoire (Montreal), Jayce Hawryluk (2014 draft-eligible), Bo Horvat (Vancouver), Morgan Klimchuk (Calgary), Curtis Lazar (Ottawa), Connor McDavid (2015 draft-eligible), Zach Nastasiuk (Detroit), Nick Paul (Dallas), Brendan Perlini (2014 draft-eligible), Nic Petan (Winnipeg), Brayden Point (2014 draft-eligible), Sam Reinhart (2014 draft-eligible), Nick Ritchie (2014 draft-eligible), Jake Virtanen (2014 draft-eligible).

View More