Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Kiprusoff up for Vezina Trophy after another stellar season

by Staff Writer / Calgary Flames
NEW YORK - Calgary Flames' goaltender Miikka Kiprusoff was nominated for the third consecutive season as a Vezina Trophy finalist alongside Martin Brodeur of the New Jersey Devils, Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers and Roberto Luongo of the Vancouver Canucks.

Kiprusoff posted a 40-24-9 record in 74 games this season and tied for third overall in shutouts with seven. The Flames' netminder captured the award in 2006 and finished second in 2004.

Devils' Brodeur earned his seventh career nomination as a finalist for the Vezina. Over the years, Brodeur has won the trophy twice with consecutive wins in 2003 and 2004, finished second in 1997, 1998 and 2006 and third in 2001.

Brodeur won a NHL-record 48 games, surpassing Bernie Parent's record of 47 in 1973-74. The Devils netminder also led the NHL in shutouts with 12 this season, ranked third in goals-against-average (2.18) and save percentage (.922).

Lundqvist is up for the Vezina for the second consecutive season after finishing third in 2006. The Rangers goaltender posted a 37-22-8 record in 70 games and tied for third overall in shutouts with seven. He also finished the season with a 16-4-5 record, 1.72 goals-against-average and .936 save percentage in 27 games.

Canucks' Luongo received his first Vezina nomination and is also a finalist for the Hart Memorial Trophy and the Lester B. Pearson Award. In 76 games, Brodeur compiled a 47-22-6 record, including a 26-7-5 mark when facing 30+ shots and matched the NHL single-season victories record entering the season (Bernie Parent, 1973-74).

The Vezina Trophy is voted by the League's General Managers and is awarded "to the goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at his position".

The winners will be announced Thursday, June 14 during the 2007 NHL Awards Television Special at the historic Elgin Theatre in Toronto (CBC, 6:30 p.m., MT).

For the first time since the inception of the NHL Awards Television Special in 1983, there are more than the traditional three finalists for an NHL trophy. A third-place tie in balloting for the Vezina Trophy, awarded to the League's top goaltender as voted by NHL General Managers, has resulted in invitations to four finalists for that honor.

To see other NHL award finalists, click here.

View More