Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Kiprusoff selected as Calgary's Masterton nominee

by Staff Writer / Calgary Flames

CALGARY, AB -- Calgary Flames goaltender Miikka Kiprusoff has been nominated for the prestigious Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy by the Calgary Chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA). The annual award goes to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

“Year after year, Miikka Kiprusoff is a dominating force in net for the Calgary Flames. Year after year, the unflappable netminder plays in more than 70 games and is among the league leaders in all the goaltending categories. Yet, year after year, he’s a forgotten star for a team which relies so heavily upon him. This season alone, the quiet Kiprusoff became the Flames franchise’s all-time leader in wins, and later became just the 27th netminder to reach the 300 win club. He is also 29th on the NHL’s all-time list for shutouts. At age 35, the 2006 Vezina Trophy winner has had as outstanding of a season as any in his career. Which is why Kiprusoff has been named the Flames nominee for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy. Although quiet and shy around the media, even though he has a legendary sense of humour with his teammates, Kiprusoff prefers to let his body of work speak for him. It’s a standard duplicated year after year since he joined the Flames, and under-appreciated around the league.” Calgary Chapter of the PHWA

The trophy was first presented by the NHL Writers' Association in 1968 to commemorate the late William Masterton, a player for the Minnesota North Stars who exhibited, to a high degree, the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. Masterton died on Jan. 15, 1968 after an injury sustained during a hockey game.

The winner is selected in a poll of all chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season.

A grant from the PHWA is awarded annually to the Bill Masterton Scholarship Fund, based in Bloomington, Minn., in the name of the Masterton Trophy winner.

Two Flames have won the trophy, Lanny McDonald in 1983 and Gary Roberts in 1996.

View More