Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Kiprusoff named Calgary's male athlete of the year

by Staff Writer / Calgary Flames
The Calgary Booster Club has named Calgary Flames goalie Miikka Kiprusoff the city's male athlete of the year.

For the third consecutive year, Cindy Klassen, a world record holder in the sport of speed skating and Canada’s most decorated Canadian Olympic athlete, was chosen as the top female.

Kiprusoff, winner of the Vezina Trophy as the NHL’s top goaltender, captured the men’s honor, as chosen by the Calgary sports media.

Kiprusoff, the 50th Scott-Mamini Memorial Award honoree, enjoyed an outstanding 2006 while playing with the Calgary Flames. He captured the William Jennings Trophy for the team allowing the fewest goals against.  

Kiprusoff also received the  Vezina trophy as the NHL’s top goaltender.   He was a finalist for the Hart Trophy as the NHL’s regular season MVP.  Miikka set new Flames records for wins (42) in a season and individual shutouts with 10. He led the league with the best goals against average, and was second in number of wins.

This thirty-one year old goaltender, from Turku, Finland, was voted as this year’s recipient of the Scott – Mamini Award by the local sports media in a very close vote with several other athletes.

For the first time in fifty years, a second ballot was required to determine the Athlete of the Year.

Others receiving support were: Owen Hargraves (Soccer), Stephen Ames (Golf), Dan Bertram (Hockey), Sandro De Angelis (Football), Duff Gibson (Skeleton), John Kucera (Hockey), James Love (Golf), Jeff Pain (Skeleton), Dalin Tollestrup (Football), and Ryan Yip (Golf).

Scott – Mamini  Award

The Scott – Mamini Award, initiated by the Calgary Press-Radio-TV Sports Club in 1958, was presented annually to the city’s Athlete of the Year as chosen by the media.  That format continued until 1987 when the Scott-Mamini Award became the Male Athlete of the Year recognition.  It is named for Harry Scott, Sports Editor of the Calgary Albertan, and Bob Mamini, the Sports Department Head at the Calgary Herald.  Both men were highly respected across the country during the 1930’s and 1940’s.

In 1958, goaltender Al Rollins was the first recipient of the Scott Mamini Award in the sport of hockey.  Since that time, five other goalies have been honoured, including two Calgary Flames goalies, Reggie Lemelin (1984), and Mike Vernon (1989 and 1998).  Others recognized in the sport of hockey include Doug Barkley (1962), John Davidson (1972), Joe Nieuwendyk (1988), and Jarome Iginla (2002 and 2003).

Past Winners of the Scott-Mamini Award

1958     Al Rollins                                              Hockey
1959     Don Luzzi                                             Football
1960     Doug Kyle                                            Track and Field
1961     Keith Alexander                                    Golf
1962     Doug Barkley                                        Hockey
1963     Harvie Wylie                                         Football
1964     Jamie Paulson                                       Badminton
1965     Lovell Coleman                                     Football
1966     Ron Northcott                                       Curling
1967     Wayne Harris                                       Football
1968     Ron Northcott                                       Curling
1969     Bob Wylie                                             Golf
1970     Pete Savinkoff                                      Fastball
1971     Barbara Simpson                                   Equestrian
1972     John Davidson                                       Hockey
1973     John Helton                                           Football
1974     Bill Benko                                             Wrestling
1975     Kathy Priestner                                     Speed Skating
1976     Willie Burden                                        Football
1977     Paul Gowsell                                         Curling
1978     Helen Vanderburg                                 Synchronized Swimming
1979     Ken Read                                             Alpine Skiing
1980     Ken Read                                             Alpine Skiing
1981     James Sykes                                         Football
1982     Karl Tilleman                                        Basketball
1983     Willie deWit                                          Boxing
1984     Reggie Lemelin                                     Hockey
1985     Tom Ponting                                         Swimming
1986     Ed Lukowich                                         Curling
1987     Rick Johnson                                         Football
1988     Joe Nieuwendyk                                    Hockey
1989     Mike Vernon                                         Hockey
1990     Mark Tewksbury                                   Swimming
1991     Bob Wylie                                             Golf
1992     Mark Tewksbury                                   Swimming
1993     Mark Tewksbury                                   Swimming
1994     David Sapunjis                                      Football
1995     Richard Bohne                                      Basketball
1996     Don Blair                                              Football
1997     Curtis Myden                                        Swimming
1998     Mike Vernon                                         Hockey
1999     Jeff Garcia                                            Football
2000     Jeremy Wotherspoon                             Speed Skating
2001     Dave Dickenson                                    Football
2002     Jarome Iginla                                        Hockey
2003     Jarome Iginla                                        Hockey
2004     Jeremy Wotherspoon                             Speed Skating
2005     Kyle Shewfelt                                       Gymnastics
2006     Lee Graves                                           Rodeo




View More