Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Inferno capture 2016 Clarkson Cup

by Torie Peterson / Calgary Flames

CALGARY, AB -- The Calgary Inferno captured their first Clarkson Cup on Sunday, downing Montreal’s Les Canadiennes 8-3 in the final.

Inferno goaltender Delayne Brian was named the final's most valuable player and the game's first star. She turned aside 38 of the 41 shots she faced on Sunday afternoon.

Montreal was the favourite heading into Sunday's final, given their dominant 21-3-0 regular season record. They also boasted a roster that featured this year's CWHL Goaltender of the Year in Charline Labonte and the top four scorers in the league in Marie-Philip Poulin (23 goals, 46 points), Ann-Sophie Bettez (19 goals, 44 points), Kim Deschenes (13 goals, 33 points), and Caroline Ouellette (15 goals, 32 points).

However, they were unable to handle a high-octane offensive squad that received two goals each from Blayre Turnbull, Brianne Jenner, Jessica Campbell, and Rebecca Johnston.

Turnbull, who was the game's third star, scored the game-winner in the second period. She slipped a shot five-hole on Labonte to give her club a 4-1 lead in the middle stanza.

This was the Inferno’s first appearance in the final. Montreal has appeared in six of eight Clarkson Cup finals and have won three championships. This year's final was held at the Canadian Tire Centre in Ottawa, marking the first time the final has been held in an NHL arena.

Prior to Sunday's final, Inferno forward Elana Lovell was named the CWHL's Rookie of the Year. Selected in the seventh round of the 2015 CWHL Draft, the Kamloops, BC product scored 14 goals and posted 26 points in 24 regular season games in Calgary.

View More