Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Hickey, McDonald invited to Hockey Canada WJC final selection camp

by Torie Peterson / Calgary Flames

Calgary Flames prospects Brandon Hickey and Mason McDonald have been invited to Hockey Canada's final selection camp for the 2016 World Junior Championship.

The camp will run Dec. 10-14 in Toronto, ON. This year's tournament, held in Helsinki, Finland, kicks off on Dec. 26. Exhibition games begin on Dec. 10 and run through Dec. 24. Two of those exhibition games will be held in Toronto (Dec. 12, Dec. 13) with Canada squaring off against the CIS All-Stars squad.

Hickey, 19, is a sophomore at Boston University. Through 14 games this season, the defenceman has four goals and six points. He leads all Terriers blueliners in shots on net with 34, is second amongst all Boston University skaters with 23 blocked shots, and has 16 PIM to his name.

In his freshman year, he helped the Terriers capture the Hockey East Championship and go all the way to the Frozen Four final, where Boston University fell 4-3 to Providence.

Hickey, the Flames third round selection in the 2014 NHL Draft, attended Hockey Canada's national junior team summer development camp.

McDonald has suited up for 17 games with the Charlottetown Islanders in the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League this season, posting a 3.45 GAA and a .893 save percentage. The 19-year-old played for Team QMJHL in the 2015 Canada Russia Series last month, attended the Hockey Canada national junior team summer development camp, and the Hockey Canada Program of Excellence goaltending camp earlier this year.

The netminder won bronze with Canada at the World Under-18 Championship in 2014, where he recorded a 1.94 GAA and .930 save percentage and was named the tournament's top goaltender. He also who also won gold with Canada's at the 2013 Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup, where he backed up Julio Billia.

McDonald was Calgary's second round selection in the 2014 NHL Draft.



Mason McDonald

Mackenzie Blackwood


Thomas Chabot

Jakob Chychrun

Travis Dermott

Vince Dunn

Haydn Fleury

Joe Hicketts

Brandon Hickey

Noah Juulsen

Roland McKeown

Travis Sanheim

Jake Walman


Mathew Barzal

Anthony Beauvillier

Rourke Chartier

Lawson Crouse

Michael Dal Colle

Pierre-Luc Dubois

Julien Gauthier

Jayce Hawryluk

Travis Konecny

Mitchell Marner

Nick Merkley

Brendan Perlini

Brayden Point

John Quenneville

Mitchell Stephens

Dylan Strome

Spencer Watson

View More