Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Giordano Receives NHL Foundation Player Award

by Staff Writer / Calgary Flames

-- Calgary Flames captain Mark Giordano is the recipient of the 2015-16 NHL Foundation Player Award, recognizing an NHL player who applies the core values of hockey -- commitment, perseverance and teamwork -- to enrich the lives of people in his community.

The NHL Foundation presents $25,000 to the winner’s chosen charitable organization. Giordano has selected the Calgary Flames Foundation, which will lend its support to the Calgary School Board and the Team Giordano initiative.

Giordano’s leadership and dedication on the ice only are paralleled by his various initiatives away from the rink. For the past two seasons, Giordano and his wife have partnered with the Calgary Board of Education to create a unique community program called Team Giordano – which provides resources to four low-income Calgary schools. Funding from Team Giordano supports the purchase of computers, journals and other school supplies as well as floor hockey equipment. Students in the program are encouraged to achieve their goals using the “5 G’s” Giordano believes are the keys to success. Since its inception, Team Giordano has donated $200,000 to its four schools, impacting the lives of 1,400 students.

NHL Clubs submitted nominations for the NHL Foundation Player Award and the finalists were selected by a judging panel. Other finalists for this year’s honor were Matt Martin of the New York Islanders and P.K. Subban of the Montreal Canadiens.

NHL Foundation Player Award Winners

Year Winner Team

2016 Mark Giordano Calgary

2015 Brent Burns San Jose

2014 Patrice Bergeron Boston

2013 Henrik Zetterberg Detroit

2012 Mike Fisher Nashville

2011 Dustin Brown Los Angeles

2010 Ryan Miller Buffalo

2009 Rick Nash Columbus

2008 Vincent Lecavalier Tampa Bay

Trevor Linden Vancouver

2007 Joe Sakic Colorado

2006 Marty Turco Dallas

2004 Jarome Iginla Calgary

2003 Darren McCarty Detroit

2002 Ron Francis Carolina

2001 Olaf Kolzig Washington

2000 Adam Graves NY Rangers

1999 Rob Ray Buffalo

1998 Kelly Chase St. Louis

View More