Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Giordano nominated for Masterton Trophy

by Staff Writer / Calgary Flames

CALGARY, AB -- The Calgary Flames announced today that Mark Giordano has been nominated for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy by the Calgary Chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA). The annual award goes to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

“One year after a torn biceps tendon ended his season and prevented him from being on the ice for his team’s unexpected playoff run, Giordano is back to 100% and back among the NHL’s elite defencemen. Calgary’s captain has set career highs in both goals and points, totals which put him in the top 10 in the league, while providing a young, rebuilding squad with the necessary leadership it needs.

Undrafted into the NHL — nor the Ontario Hockey League, from where the Flames signed him as an unrestricted free agent — Giordano has become a top-tier blueliner through his relentless work ethic. Moreover, he’s a prime example of professionalism, not just on the ice but off the ice with the media.

It’s the second time Giordano has been named Calgary’s nominee. Among those also receiving votes were TJ Brodie, Mikael Backlund, Matt Stajan and Micheal Ferland.”

– Calgary Chapter of the PHWA

The trophy was first presented by the NHL Writers' Association in 1968 to commemorate the late William Masterton, a player for the Minnesota North Stars who exhibited, to a high degree, the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. Masterton died on Jan. 15, 1968 after an injury sustained during a hockey game. The winner is selected in a poll of all chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season.

A grant from the PHWA is awarded annually to the Bill Masterton Scholarship Fund, based in Bloomington, Minn., in the name of the Masterton Trophy winner. Two Flames have won the trophy, Lanny McDonald in 1983 and Gary Roberts in 1996.

View More