Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Giordano nominated for Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

by Staff Writer / Calgary Flames

CALGARY, AB -- The Calgary Flames announced today that Mark Giordano has been nominated for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy by the Calgary Chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA). The annual award goes to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

“In the NHL's top-10 in average ice time at 25-plus minutes per game, Giordano has reached career highs in goals and points, and has developed into the quintessential captain for a rebuilding Flames team that has surpassed expectations with its performance and competitiveness.

Giordano, who wasn't drafted but signed as a free-agent after his overage season in the Ontario Hockey League, reached the NHL after a few years in the minors through sheer determination and will power. The 30-year-old blueliner has gone from being one of the league's biggest secrets to being among those considered for Canada's Olympic hockey team thanks to a complete, two-way game and tough-but-honest style.

Moreover, he's become a perfect leader in taking the captaincy after Jarome Iginla was traded, guiding the young players in the organization with not only his performance – he's among the league-leaders among defencemen for points-per game while maintaining a positive plus-minus – but his actions off the ice. Giordano's development is an example to all young players for what they can achieve with a never-give-up attitude.” Calgary Chapter of the PHWA

The trophy was first presented by the NHL Writers' Association in 1968 to commemorate the late William Masterton, a player for the Minnesota North Stars who exhibited, to a high degree, the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. Masterton died on Jan. 15, 1968 after an injury sustained during a hockey game. The winner is selected in a poll of all chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season.

A grant from the PHWA is awarded annually to the Bill Masterton Scholarship Fund, based in Bloomington, Minn., in the name of the Masterton Trophy winner. Two Flames have won the trophy, Lanny McDonald in 1983 and Gary Roberts in 1996.

View More