Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Gillies, Gaudreau honoured by Hockey East

by Staff Writer / Calgary Flames

WAKEFIELD, MA -- The Hockey East Association announced the six-member 2013 Pro Ambitions All-Rookie Team on Wednesday afternoon. The first-year players will be honored alongside several award winners at Thursday's annual championship awards night at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in Cambridge, Mass.

The All-Rookie team was highlighted by three unanimous selections, including: UMass-Lowell goaltender Connor Hellebuyck (Commerce, Mich.), Boston College defenceman Michael Matheson (Pointe-Claire, Que.) and Northeastern forward Kevin Roy (Lac-Beauport, Que.). They were joined on the team by Providence College netminder Jon Gillies (South Portland, Maine) and a pair Boston University players in defender Matt Grzelcyk (Charlestown, Mass.) and forward Danny O'Regan (Needham, Mass.).

Among the other individuals who will be honored at Thursday's banquet will be Providence College senior Tim Schaller (Merimack, N.H) as the Gladiator Hockey Best Defensive Forward. Schaller posted 20 points (6g,14a) skating in all 27 league games for the Friars with a +10 plus/minus rating. Vermont junior forward Chris McCarthy (Collegeville, Pa.) took home the Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award, given annually to the player who has consistently demonstrated superior conduct and sportsmanship on the ice. McCarthy notched only three penalties for six minutes in 27 league contests to go along with 25 points (12g,13a). Boston College senior Patrick Wey (Pittsburgh, Pa.) was tabbed as the Old Time Hockey Best Defensive Defenceman this season. He finished league play with a +8 plus/minus rating with nine points (1g,8a) in 26 games for the Eagles.

The Turfer Athletic Scoring Champion went to Boston College sophomore forward Johnny Gaudreau (Carneys Point, N.J.) with 36 points (12g,24a) and freshman Connor Hellebuyck won the Stop It Goaltending Champion Award posting a 1.38 GAA, a .948 save percentage and a record of 11- 1-0 for the River Hawks. The Army ROTC Three Stars Award was awarded to New Hampshire's John Henrion (Holden, Mass.) and Maine's Martin Ouellette (St.-Hippolyte, Que.). Henrion was named a Star of the Game eight times and No. 1 Star in five games, while Ouellette was tabbed on 11 occasions and was named No. 1 Star twice this season. New Hampshire will also receive the Charlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award for the fourth year in a row. The Wildcats were the lowest penalized team in the league averaging 9.5 minutes per game.

The Hockey East Association is a 10-team Division I college men's hockey conference founded in 1984 and an eightteam Division I women's league which began play in 2002-03. The men's league has won eight NCAA championships in the past 20 years. Since 1999, Hockey East has won six NCAA Championships and have placed 20 teams in the Frozen Four, along with 53 teams in the NCAA Tournament.

View More