Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Flames' forward Jiri Hudler Wins Lady Byng Trophy

by Staff Writer / Calgary Flames

-- Calgary Flames forward Jiri Hudler has captured the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, awarded “to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability,” as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

Hudler polled 700 voting points, including 52 first-place tallies, for a tight win over four-time Lady Byng Trophy winner Pavel Datsyuk of the Detroit Red Wings, who collected 648 voting points.

Hudler finished eighth in the NHL scoring race and established career highs in goals (31), assists (45) and points (76), helping the Flames qualify for the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the first time since 2009. Hudler tallied 23 points in March, when the team jumped from the outside of the playoff picture into third place in the Pacific Division. It marked the most points by any player in a calendar month this season and the most by a Flames player since December 2006 (Jarome Iginla: 10-16--26). A first-time NHL Trophy finalist, Hudler was assessed just 14 penalty minutes all season, fewest among the League’s top 20 scorers.

2014-2015 Lady Byng Trophy Voting, Top 20 Finishers

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th)

1. Jiri Hudler, CGY 700 (52-13-12-8-5)

2. Pavel Datsyuk, DET 648 (29-28-24-10-12)

3. Anze Kopitar, LAK 379 (11-18-20-13-4)

4. Daniel Sedin, VAN 267 (6-10-15-18-8)

5. Sean Monahan, CGY 232 (13-5-8-7-6)

6. Jason Pominville, MIN 205 (8-10-7-5-5)

7. Matt Moulson, BUF 150 (4-8-6-6-6)

8. Logan Couture, SJS 148 (3-6-2-16-18)

9. Ryan O’Reilly, COL 139 (2-8-7-6-10)

10. Patrick Kane, CHI 130 (3-4-8-8-8)

11. Roman Josi, NSH 101 (4-5-3-3-2)

12. Tyler Johnson, TBL 96 (3-6-2-4-2)

13. Jonas Brodin, MIN 88 (5-2-2-4-2)

14. Henrik Sedin, VAN 72 (1-1-7-5-5)

15. Tyler Seguin, DAL 61 (2-3-2-2-4)

16. Radim Vrbata, VAN 44 (0-2-4-2-4)

17. Johnny Gaudreau, CGY 43 (1-1-1-6-3)

18. Patrick Marleau, SJS 43 (0-3-1-4-5)

19. Loui Eriksson, BOS 38 (1-2-2-1-1)

20. Martin St. Louis, NYR 36 (1-0-4-1-3)

Lady Byng Trophy Winners Since 1990

Year Winner Runner-up

2015 Jiri Hudler, Cgy. Pavel Datsyuk, Det.

2014 Ryan O’Reilly, Col. Martin St. Louis, NYR

2013 Martin St. Louis, T.B. Patrick Kane, Chi.

2012 Brian Campbell, Fla. Jordan Eberle, Edm.

2011 Martin St. Louis, T.B. Nicklas Lidstrom, Det.

2010 Martin St. Louis, T.B. Brad Richards, Dal.

2009 Pavel Datsyuk, Det. Martin St. Louis, T.B.

2008 Pavel Datsyuk, Det. Martin St. Louis, T.B.

2007 Pavel Datsyuk, Det. Martin St. Louis, T.B.

2006 Pavel Datsyuk, Det. Brad Richards, T.B.

2004 Brad Richards, T.B. Daniel Alfredsson, Ott.

2003 Alex. Mogilny, Tor. Nicklas Lidstrom, Det.

2002 Ron Francis, Car. Joe Sakic, Col.

2001 Joe Sakic, Col. Nicklas Lidstrom, Det.

2000 Pavol Demitra, St.L Nicklas Lidstrom, Det.

1999 Wayne Gretzky, NYR Nicklas Lidstrom, Det.

1998 Ron Francis, Pit. Teemu Selanne, Ana.

1997 Paul Kariya, Ana. Teemu Selanne, Ana.

1996 Paul Kariya, Ana. Adam Oates, Bos.

1995 Ron Francis, Pit. Adam Oates, Bos.

1994 Wayne Gretzky, L.A. Adam Oates, Bos.

1993 Pierre Turgeon, NYI Adam Oates, Bos.

1992 Wayne Gretzky, L.A. Joe Sakic, Que.

1991 Wayne Gretzky, L.A. Brett Hull, St.L

1990 Brett Hull, St.L Wayne Gretzky, L.A.

View More