Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Daryl "Doc" Seaman elected to HHOF

by Staff Writer / Calgary Flames
Calgary, AB - The Calgary Flames are proud to announce the induction of Darryl K. “Doc” Seaman to the Hockey Hall of Fame.

A founding owner of the Calgary Flames, Doc Seaman’s election in the Builder Category was announced today by the Hockey Hall of Fame’s Selection Committee.
“This recognition is a richly deserved honor for a man who knew and appreciated the Canadian value of hockey and the tradition of the game,” said Flames President & CEO Ken King. “He was a visionary, our game’s biggest fan, and passionate about both the Calgary Flames and his enduring support for hockey all throughout Canada for over 50 years. Those who care about hockey owe him a debt of gratitude.”
Doc was born in Rouleau, Saskatchewan. He became one of Alberta's most successful oilmen and industrialists through his company, Bow Valley Industries, along with many other ventures. He and his brothers, B.J. and Don Seaman, were among the first wave of adventurous oilmen who pioneered the industry after the Second World War. Doc's war record was itself remarkable; he flew eighty-two successful combat missions out of North Africa as a sub-hunting pilot, earning a Government of France citation for bravery.
An original Calgary Flames owner, Doc followed the team passionately. Besides bringing the Flames to Calgary, he was a key player in building the Saddledome and bringing the 1988 Olympic Winter Games to Calgary.
A true hockey fan, Doc joined a small group of visionaries to save Canadian hockey from mediocrity at a time when the European game was becoming dominant. Canada's five straight junior hockey gold medal wins have their roots in Project 75, now called the Seaman-Hotchkiss Foundation. He was a strong supporter of Hockey Canada's grass root development programs.  
Among his numerous awards and achievements, Doc was the Founding Governor of the Hockey Canada Foundation in 1979; named an Officer, Order of Canada in 1993; elected to the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame in 2007; and received the Alberta Order of Excellence in 2008.

Doc Seaman becomes the second member of the Flames ownership group to be elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame. Harley N. Hotchkiss received the honor as a member of the Class of 2006. Doc passed away on Sunday, January 11, 2009 at age 86.
Additionally, Dino Ciccarelli, Cammi Granato and Angela James were elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame in the Player Category while joining Doc in the Builder Category is Jimmy Devellano.
The 2010 Induction Celebration will be held on Monday, November 8, 2010 at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.  
 For more information regarding the 2010 Induction Weekend/Celebration, visit <> .
View More