Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Calgary Flames

Baertschi, Wotherspoon WHL Western Conference champs

by Staff Writer / Calgary Flames

CALGARY, AB -- The Portland Winterhawks captured their second straight Kal Tire WHL Western Conference Championship after defeating the Tri-City Americans 4-1 in Game 4 of the Western Conference final on Thursday night. Ty Rattie was named the series MVP after he posted four goals and two assists for six points in four games.

Marcel Noebels scored one of four third-period goals for the Winterhawks as they overturned a 1-0 deficit through two periods of play to complete the four-game sweep of the Americans. Cam Reid, Sven Baertschi and Brad Ross also scored for the Winterhawks, who will face either Edmonton or Moose Jaw in the WHL championship series.

Adam Hughesman’s power play marker 17:40 into the first period was the lone goal for the Americans in the Game 4 loss. The Americans were the U.S. Division and Western Conference regular-season champions.

Netminder Mac Carruth turned in a valiant 39-save performance to claim his 30th career playoff win and propel the Winterhawks to their second consecutive appearance in the WHL Championship series. The Hawks lost the 2011 WHL Championship series in five games to Kootenay.

Ty Rimmer put forth a 57-save effort in a losing cause for the Americans.

EDITORS NOTE: Flames prospect Tyler Wotherspoon notched an assist in the win. The blueliner ended the night with a plus-one rating.

View More