Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Anaheim Ducks

Six Former Ducks Named to 100 Greatest Players List

by Anaheim Ducks /

The National Hockey League (NHL) today announced that former Ducks Teemu Selanne, Scott Niedermayer, Chris Pronger, Adam Oates, Sergei Fedorov and Jari Kurri have been named to the 100 Greatest NHL Players list, a centerpiece in honoring 100 years of NHL hockey. A Blue Ribbon panel comprised of distinguished members of the hockey community - including executives, media members and NHL alumni - selected the list of esteemed players. The first 33, who played predominantly during the NHL's first half century, from 1917-1966, were named on Jan. 1 at the Centennial Classic in Toronto. The remaining 67, who played predominantly from 1967-present, were introduced at NHL100 this evening in Los Angeles.

Selanne earned 684-773=1,457 points with a +95 rating in 1,451 career NHL games. A 2007 Stanley Cup Champion with Anaheim, Selanne also won the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy in 2005-06, the Maurice Rocket Richard Trophy in 1998-99 and the Calder Memorial Trophy in 1992-93. Among all-time NHL leaders, he ranks 11th in goals, 15th in points, third in power-play goals (255) and tied for fourth in game-winning goals (110). He scored an NHL rookie-record 76 goals in 1992-93 and finished with 22 regular-season hat tricks. A 10-time NHL All-Star, Selanne was also a two-time First Team All-Star, a two-time Second Team All-Star (1997-98, 1998-99) and also named to the 1992-93 NHL All-Rookie Team.

Selanne is the Anaheim franchise leader in goals (457), points (988), power-play goals (182), game-winning goals (77) and games played (966). He is also the all-time Ducks leader in playoff goals (35), power-play goals (15) and game-winning goals (8). He helped lead Anaheim to California's first Stanley Cup championship in 2007 and became the first Ducks player to have his jersey retired at Honda Center on Jan. 11, 2015.

Inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2013, Niedermayer collected 172-568=740 points with a +167 rating in 1,263 games over 18 NHL seasons with Anaheim and New Jersey. At the time of his retirement in 2010, Niedermayer ranked 19th in assists, 23rd in points, 21st in games played and tied for 14th in power-play goals (90) among NHL defensemen all-time. He also ranked seventh in career game-winning goals (39) among defensemen. Thirteen of those 39 goals came in overtime, the most by a defenseman in NHL history. Niedermayer won the 2003-04 James Norris Memorial Trophy and also named an NHL All-Star six times during his NHL career (1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2008 and 2009). In 202 career Stanley Cup contests, Niedermayer scored 25-73=98 points, which ranked eighth in appearances and 13th in points all-time among league blueliners at the time of his retirement.

Named the sixth captain in club history on Oct. 3, 2005, Niedermayer led Anaheim to the Stanley Cup in 2007 after recording 3-8=11 points and winning the Conn Smythe Trophy as the Most Valuable Player of the Stanley Cup Playoffs. Niedermayer appeared in his final 371 regular season NHL contests in an Anaheim uniform, collecting 60-204=264 points. He remains the Ducks' all-time leader in goals, assists, points and power-play goals (39) among club defensemen.

A 2015 Hockey Hall of Fame inductee, Pronger appeared in 1,167 career NHL games, earning 157-541=698 points with a +183 rating from 1993-12 with Hartford, St. Louis, Edmonton, Anaheim and Philadelphia. Winner of the Hart Memorial and James Norris Memorial trophies in 1999-00, Pronger appeared in the Stanley Cup Final with three different teams and won the Cup with the Ducks in 2007. He was the first defenseman to be named the league's most valuable player since Bobby Orr in 1972 and was also named a First-Team All-Star that season. He was a Second-Team All-Star in 1998, 2004 and 2007, a six-time NHL All-Star and a member of the 1994 NHL All-Rookie team.

Acquired by Anaheim on July 3, 2006 from Edmonton in exchange for Joffrey Lupul, Ladislav Smid, a first-round selection in the 2007 NHL Draft, a conditional first-round selection and second-round selection in the 2008 NHL Draft, Pronger collected 36-114=150 points with a +26 rating in 220 regular-season games with the Ducks from 2006-09. He also appeared in 38 playoff games with Anaheim, recording 7-23=30 points.

Inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2012, Oates helped Anaheim reach its first Stanley Cup Final in 2003. Oates appeared in 1,337 career NHL games, recording 341-1079=1,420 points with a +53 rating from 1985-04 with Detroit, St. Louis, Boston, Washington, Philadelphia, Anaheim and Edmonton. A five-time All-Star, Oates twice led the NHL in assists in 1992-93 and 2001-02, and ranks seventh all-time in assists (1,079), 17th in scoring (1,420) and 14th in power-play points (498).

Signed by Anaheim as a free agent on July 1, 2002, Oates ranked third among team leaders in assists, fourth in scoring and second in faceoff wins (615) and faceoff percentage (57.8) in his lone season with the Ducks in 2002-03. He co-led Anaheim in scoring (13), assists (9), and power-play points (3) during the playoffs and added three assists during the Final.

Fedorov, who entered the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2015, collected 483-696=1,179 points with a +261 rating in 1,248 career NHL games from 1990-09 with Detroit, Anaheim, Columbus and Washington. Fedorov was a three-time Stanley Cup champion with Detroit in 1996-97, 1997-98 and 2001-02. He won the Hart Memorial Trophy and Ted Lindsay Award in 1993-94, and won the Frank J. Selke award in 1993-94 and 1995-96. Among all-time Russian-born NHL players, Fedorov ranks first in scoring (1,179), assists (696), plus/minus (+261), playoff scoring (176), playoff goals (52) and playoff assists (124).

Fedorov signed with the Ducks as a free agent on July 19, 2003, collecting 31-35=66 points in 85 career games from 2003-05. During the 2003-04 season, Fedorov led the club in scoring (31-34=65), goals and game-winning goals (6), co-led in power-play goals (9) and ranked second in assists.

A member of the Hockey Hall of Fame since 2001, Kurri registered 601-797=1,398 points with a +266 rating in 1,251 career NHL games from 1980-98 with Edmonton, Los Angeles, the New York Rangers, Anaheim and Colorado. A five-time Stanley Cup champion with Edmonton in 1983-84, 1984-85, 1986-87, 1997-88 and 1989-90, Kurri won the Maurice Rocket Richard Trophy in 1985-86 and the Lady Byng Trophy in 1984-85. He also received First-Team All-Star honors in 1984-85 and 1986-87 and was named a Second-Team All-Star in 1983-84, 1985-86 and 1988-89. Kurri ranks 20th on among NHL all-time leaders in assists (797), while ranking third in scoring (233), goals (106) and seventh in assists (107) among all-time playoff leaders.

In his lone season with the Ducks in 1996-97, Kurri recorded 13-22=35 points in 82 games. He helped Anaheim reach the playoffs for the first time in franchise history, guiding the Ducks to its first ever postseason series win against Phoenix in the opening round. He collected 1-2=3 points in 11 playoff games in 1997.

View More