Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Anaheim Ducks

Perry Wins Rocket Richard Trophy

by Staff Writer / Anaheim Ducks
Anaheim Ducks right wing Corey Perry has won the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy as the NHL’s top goal scorer for the 2010-11 season. Perry scored a career high 50 goals this season, along with a career-best 98 points. He will be presented with the trophy at the NHL Awards Show at the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas on June 22, 2011.

"Congratulations to Corey on a tremendous regular season,” said Ducks Executive Vice President/General Manager Bob Murray. “He worked hard to earn this trophy and deserves the recognition he is receiving.”

Perry is the second Ducks player to win the award. Teemu Selanne won the inaugural “Rocket” Richard Trophy for the 1998-99 season. Perry and Selanne are just the third set of teammates since 1986 to lead the league in goal scoring (while on their current club). Steven Stamkos and Vincent Lecavalier of Tampa Bay did so in 2010 and 2006, respectively, while Wayne Gretzky (1987) and Jari Kurri (1986) also accomplished the feat for the Edmonton Oilers.

Perry Highlights

Perry’s 50 goals this year were the most by a Ducks player since Selanne had 52 in 1997-98. Perry recorded a hat trick on Apr. 6 vs., San Jose, reaching the 50 goal plateau with his third tally. He became the third player in franchise history to reach the 50-goal mark (Paul Kariya had 50 in 1995-96 & Selanne had 51 in 1996-97 and aforementioned 52 in 1997-98). The last time a player in the Western Conference scored 50-or-more goals was Calgary’s Jarome Iginla in 2007-08 (50).

Perry co-led the league with 11 game-winning goals (Ovechkin), while also leading the NHL in third period tallies (21). Of his 50 markers, 25 either tied the score or put the Ducks ahead.
View More