Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Anaheim Ducks

Palmieri Named to AHL All-Star Game

by Staff Writer / Anaheim Ducks
Right wing Kyle Palmieri of the Syracuse Crunch, the Ducks' primary AHL affiliate, has been named to the Eastern Conference All-Star Team for the 2012 AHL All-Star Classic, to take place January 29 and 30 at Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Palmieri, 20, is tied for the AHL lead in goals scored with 19. In 21 games played he ranks second on the Crunch with 29 points (19g, 10a). Palmieri was named the Reebok/AHL Player of the Week for the week ending October 16, 2011. Palmieri recorded six points (4g, 2a) in the Crunch's first two games of the 2011-12 campaign, including a hat trick at the Mirabito Home Opener on October 15 against the Adirondack Phantoms. Palmieri has also appeared in seven games with the Anaheim Ducks this season, collecting three points (2g, 1a). This is the second consecutive year that Palmieri has been selected to represent the Crunch at the All-Star Classic.

A native of Smithtown, New York, Palmieri appeared in 33 games during his freshman season at the University of Notre Dame (CCHA) in 2009-10, recording 17 points (9g, 8a). Prior to his time at Notre Dame, Palmieri skated in 70 combined contests from 2007-09 with the U.S. National Under-18 Team, recording 57 points (31g, 26a). He was selected by Anaheim in the first round, 26th overall, in the 2009 NHL Entry Draft.
In 18 seasons, Syracuse has now had 27 players selected to participate in the AHL All-Star Classic. Previous selections include Lonny Bohonos and Scott Walker (1994-95), Brian Loney (1995-96), Larry Courville and John Namestnikov (1996-97), Mark Wotton and Robert Dome (1997-98), Boris Protsenko and Valentin Morozov (1998-99), Harold Druken and Chris O'Sullivan (1999-00), Mike Gaul (2000-01), Derrick Walser and Duvie Westcott (2001-02), Karl Goehring (2002-03), Aaron Johnson (2003-04), Alexander Svitov (2004-05), Andy Delmore and Mark Hartigan (2005-06), Filip Novak (2006-07), Derick Brassard, Joakim Lindstrom and Clay Wilson (2007-08), Nikita Filatov and Derek MacKenzie (2008-09) and Dan Fritsche (2009-10).
Fans will have the opportunity to vote for the starting lineups for the 2012 AHL All-Star Game by visiting or and completing the official Reebok AHL All-Star Fan Ballot. By completing the official ballot, fans will also be entered to win a grand prize of a team-signed authentic 2012 AHL All-Star jersey. Five more winners will each receive a pair of tickets to the 2012 AHL All-Star Skills Competition and All-Star Game, courtesy of Insurance Office of America.

On-line fan balloting at will end at noon ET on Monday, January 23, 2012.
Tickets for the 2012 AHL All-Star Classic – which include admission to both the 2012 AHL All-Star Skills Competition at 3 p.m. on Sunday, January 29, and the 2012 AHL All-Star Game at 7 p.m. on Monday, January 30 – are on sale now at the Boardwalk Hall box office, all Ticketmaster locations, by calling (800) 736-1420 or at Tickets are also available for the Post-Skills Party (January 29, 5:30 p.m.) and the 2012 AHL Hall of Fame Induction & Awards Ceremony (January 30, 11 a.m.) at Caesars Atlantic City.
The 2012 AHL All-Star Classic will feature the top young talent in the American Hockey League competing in an internationally televised showcase from historic Boardwalk Hall in Atlantic City. The 2012 AHL All-Star Classic is presented by the Atlantic City Convention & Visitors Authority, Caesars Entertainment, the Casino Reinvestment Development Authority and the American Hockey League.
View More