Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Anaheim Ducks

Pahlsson, Pronger and Niedermayer Up For Awards

by Staff Writer / Anaheim Ducks

NHL Awards in Toronto

8 p.m. on Versus

Samuel Pahlsson was a finalist for the Frank J. Selke Trophy, while Scott Niedermayer and Chris Pronger were each up for the James Norris Trophy, announced at the NHL Awards tonight at the historic Elgin Theatre in Toronto. But none of the three Ducks came away with awards on the night, as they were each beaten by repeat winners.

Rod Brind'amour of the Carolina Hurricanes won the Selke Trophy, given to the league's top defensive forward, for the second straight year. The Norris, awarded to the league's top defenseman, was claimed by Nicklas Lidstrom of the Detroit Red Wings for the second year in a row.

The ceremony will be televised on Versus at 8 p.m.

Pahlsson was a first-time finalist for the Selke Trophy, as the 29-year-old center went up against Brind'Amour and New Jersey left wing Jay Pandolfo for the honor.  

Niedermayer and Pronger have each won the Norris (for the top defenseman in the league) once. Niedermayer won the award with New Jersey in 2004. It was the third time he was nominated and second straight time with the Ducks. Pronger claimed the Norris in 2000 while with St. Louis, the same year he won the Hart Trophy as the league MVP. This was just the third time since the 1968-69 season that teammates have been named finalists for the Norris Trophy. Bobby Orr and Ted Green did it for Boston in 1969, while Lidstrom and Chris Chelios were both nominated in 2002.

The winner of each award was selected by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association at the conclusion of the regular season.

View More