Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Anaheim Ducks

Murray Named Finalist for 2012-13 NHL General Manager Of The Year Award

by Staff Writer / Anaheim Ducks
The National Hockey League (NHL) today announced Anaheim Ducks Vice President/General Manager Bob Murray as a finalist for the 2012-13 NHL General Manager of the Year. Murray joins Ray Shero of the Pittsburgh Penguins and Marc Bergevin of the Montreal Canadiens as the three finalists for the top GM award this season. Voting was conducted among the 30 club general managers and a panel of NHL executives, print and broadcast media. The winner will be announced during the 2013 Stanley Cup Final, with more detail on format to be released at a later date.

The 2012-13 Ducks posted a 30-12-6 record for 66 points, winning their second Pacific Division title and the No. 2 seed in the Western Conference. Offseason additions included Swedish Elite League goaltender Viktor Fasth, who went 15-6-2 with four shutouts, a 2.18 goals-against average (GAA) and .921 save percentage (SV%). The club also signed defensemen Bryan Allen and Sheldon Souray, and center Daniel Winnik to add depth and remake the 23-man roster. In addition, Anaheim resigned right wing Teemu Selanne for his 14th season with the Ducks and acquired defenseman Ben Lovejoy in a midseason trade with Pittsburgh. On Mar. 8 and Mar. 18, center Ryan Getzlaf and right wing Corey Perry were signed to respective eight-year contract extensions through the 2020-21 season.

Murray is in the midst of his 38th consecutive year in the National Hockey League, his fifth as Executive Vice President/General Manager of the Anaheim Ducks. He was named to his current position on Nov. 12, 2008 after spending the previous three-plus seasons as the club’s Senior Vice President of Hockey Operations. During that three-year period, the Ducks won a Stanley Cup (2007), a Pacific Division title (2007) and qualified for the playoffs each season (2006-08).

View More