Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Anaheim Ducks

First Look: Ducks-Flames

by Staff Writer / Anaheim Ducks


The Anaheim Ducks-Calgary Flames series marks the second playoff meeting between the two clubs. The Ducks and Flames originally met in the 2006 Conference Quarterfinals, a 4-3 series win for Anaheim. That series was tied 1-1, 2-2 and 3-3 before the Ducks prevailed in Game 7 in Calgary. Francois Beauchemin (2-3=5), Corey Perry (0-3=3) and Ryan Getzlaf (1-1=2) each appeared in all seven games vs. Calgary (only current players from either team that played in the 2006 series).

Anaheim won the 2014-15 season series with a 3-1-1 record. The Ducks and Flames first met on Nov. 18 at Scotiabank Saddledome, a 4-3 Calgary shootout win. The Ducks returned home to face the Flames seven days later on Nov. 25, a 3-2 Anaheim victory. Anaheim and Calgary alternated 6-3 wins over the final three games, including Jan. 21 at Honda Center (Anaheim win) and Feb. 20 (Anaheim win) and Mar. 11 (Calgary win) at Scotiabank Saddledome. Getzlaf and Kyle Palmieri co-led Anaheim skaters in scoring during the season series, each with 4-1=5 points. Dennis Wideman paced the Flames with 2-5=7 points in the five contests.

Anaheim owns a 47-35-9 all-time record vs. Calgary, including a 31-8-6 mark at Honda Center. Getzlaf leads Anaheim skaters in career scoring vs. the Flames with 14-25=39 points in 38 career games. Wideman has recorded 5-14=19 points in 19 games vs. Anaheim, tops among Calgary players.

Ducks forward Tim Jackman played for Calgary from 2010-13, scoring 13-23=36 points in 209 career games. Calgary goaltender Jonas Hiller appeared in 326 career games with Anaheim from 2007-14, going 162-110-32 with a 2.51 GAA and a .916 SV%.

The Ducks advanced to the Second Round with a 4-0 sweep of the Winnipeg Jets. Anaheim's series sweep was the fourth in club history (also COL in 2006 CSF, MIN in 2003 WCF and DET in 2003 CQF). Anaheim is now 13-9 in series play (cumulative 69-53 record). The Ducks have advanced to the second round for the sixth time in the last 12 NHL seasons (also 2003, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2014).

View More