Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Anaheim Ducks

Ducks to Protect 11 Players in 2017 NHL Expansion Draft

by Kyle Shohara @kyleshohara /

With the 2017 NHL Expansion Draft set to take place on Wednesday, June 21, the Ducks have opted to protect seven forwards, three defensemen and one goaltender (7-3-1). This announcement comes on a day in which the National Hockey League released the protected lists of the existing 30 teams. Each team had two options for players they wish to protect in the expansion draft, which includes the aforementioned 7-3-1 route or eight skaters (forwards/defensemen) and one goaltender.

As a reminder, all players with continuing and effective no-movement clauses had to be protected (Forwards Ryan Getzlaf, Ryan Kesler and Corey Perry and defensemen Kevin Bieksa). All first- and second-year professionals are exempt from selection, as are unsigned draft choices.

The Vegas Golden Knights have until 7 a.m. PT on Wednesday to submit their expansion draft selections. The club must choose 30 players, one from each team and must take a minimum of 14 forwards, nine defensemen and three goalies from the lists of unprotected players. The Golden Knights' selections will be announced at the 2017 NHL Awards and NHL Expansion Draft on June 21 at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas. The event begins at 5 p.m. PT (NBCSN).

Below is the full list of protected and exposed Ducks:

Protected players
Andrew Cogliano (F)
Ryan Getzlaf (F)
Ryan Kesler (F)
Corey Perry (F)
Rickard Rakell (F)
Jakob Silfverberg (F)
Antoine Vermette (F)
Kevin Bieksa (D)
Cam Fowler (D)
Hampus Lindholm (D)
John Gibson (G)

Available players
Spencer Abbott (F)
Jared Boll (F)
Sam Carrick (F)
Patrick Eaves (F)
Emerson Etem (F)
Ryan Garbutt (F)
Max Gortz (F)
Nicolas Kerdiles (F)
Andre Petersson (F)
Logan Shaw (F)
Nick Sorensen (F)
Nate Thompson (F)
Corey Tropp (F)
Chris Wagner (F)
Nate Guenin (D)
Korbinian Holzer (D)
Josh Manson (D)
Jaycob Megna (D)
Jeff Schultz (D)
Clayton Stoner (D)
Sami Vatanen (D)
Jonathan Bernier (G)
Jhonas Enroth (G)
Ryan Faragher (G)
Matt Hackett (G)
Dustin Tokarski (G)

View More