Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Anaheim Ducks

Cogliano Nominated for the 2015-16 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

by Staff Writer / Anaheim Ducks

The Anaheim chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association (PHWA) announced today that forward Andrew Cogliano has been selected as the Ducks’ nominee for the 2015-16 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy. The Masterton Trophy is presented annually to the NHL player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. The winner will be selected at the end of the regular season by the full PHWA’s 30 chapters.

Cogliano, 28 (6/14/87), has scored 9-18=27 points with a +3 rating and 26 penalty minutes (PIM) with the Ducks this season. He joins Corey Perry and Jakob Silfverberg as the only three Ducks to appear in all 75 games. A three-time Masterton nominee with the Ducks, Cogliano is the NHL’s reigning Ironman at 697 consecutive games, having never missed a game in his NHL career. Only one player in NHL history has played more consecutive games to start his career: Doug Jarvis (the NHL's all-time Ironman overall with 964 consecutive games from 1975-88).

Cogliano passed Henrik Sedin (679) for sole possession of the sixth-longest Ironman streak in NHL history Feb. 21 vs. Calgary. He ranks ninth on the club’s all-time goal list (71) and second on the all-time shorthanded goals list (10) in five seasons with Anaheim.

Originally selected by Edmonton in the first round (25th overall) of the 2005 NHL Draft, Cogliano has appeared in 697 career NHL games with Anaheim and Edmonton, earning 128-165=293 points with 224 PIM. He was acquired by Anaheim in exchange for a second-round selection in the 2013 NHL Draft on July 12, 2011.

View More