Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Anaheim Ducks

Andersen, Gibson Awarded William Jennings Trophy

by Staff Writer / Anaheim Ducks

Frederik Andersen and John Gibson of the Ducks won the William M. Jennings Trophy, presented “to the goalkeeper(s) having played a minimum of 25 games for the team with the fewest goals scored against it.”

The Jennings race was not decided until the final game of the season. The Ducks traveled to Washington with a one-goal deficit in the competition – Washington with a League-low 191 goals-against, Anaheim with 192. Andersen and Gibson clinched their first career Jennings win when the Ducks, behind Andersen’s 24 saves, blanked the Capitals 2-0, keeping their goals-against total at 192 and pushing Washington’s to 193.

Andersen and Gibson became the first Ducks goaltenders to claim the Jennings Trophy. Andersen made 43 appearances in the Ducks’ goal, posting a 15-game point streak from Jan. 1 – March 5 (13-0-2) – the second-longest such run in franchise history behind Jonas Hiller’s 16-game streak in 2013-14 (14-0-2). He went 17-1-2 in his final 22 outings dating to Jan. 13. Gibson, meanwhile, appeared in 40 games and ranked second in the NHL with a 2.07 goals-against average, paced all rookie netminders with four shutouts and shared the rookie lead in wins (21).

View More