Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Anaheim Ducks

2017 Playoff Race

As of Sunday, April 9

The Ducks can clinch their fifth consecutive Pacific Division title with at least one point against the Kings OR if the Oilers lose to the Canucks in any fashion. However, if the Ducks and Oilers end the season tied in points and 42 ROW (Ducks regulation loss vs. Kings, Oilers shootout win vs. Canucks), the Oilers win the tiebreaker, having won the season series against the Ducks, six points to four.

The winner of the Pacific Division will host the Calgary Flames in the first round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs, while the second-place team will host the San Jose Sharks.

* Total number of back-to-back sets includes teams playing the second half of consecutive games today           

Color Glossary
Green designates teams in playoff position (1-8)                        
Blue designates teams in the Pacific Division            
Orange designates teams in the Central Division     

Tie-Breaking Procedure
If two or more clubs are tied in points during the regular season, the standing of the clubs is determined in the following order:
1.   The fewer number of games played (i.e., superior points percentage).
2.   The greater number of games won, excluding games won in the Shootout. This figure is reflected in the ROW column.
3.   The greater number of points earned in games between the tied clubs. If two clubs are tied, and have not played an equal number of home games against each other, points earned in the first game played in the city that had the extra game shall not be included. If more than two clubs are tied, the higher percentage of available points earned in games among those clubs, and not including any "odd" games, shall be used to determine the standing.
4.   The greater differential between goals for and against for the entire regular season.
NOTE: In standings a victory in a shootout counts as one goal for, while a shootout loss counts as one goal against.

NHL Playoff System
The Stanley Cup Playoffs will still consist of 16 teams, eight in each conference, but it will be division-based and a wild-card system has been added.

The top three teams in each division will make up the first 12 teams in the playoffs. The remaining four spots will be filled by the next two highest-placed finishers in each conference, based on regular-season points and regardless of division. It will be possible, then, for one division to send five teams to the postseason while the other sends just three.

Seeding of the wild-card teams within each divisional playoff will be determined on the basis of regular-season points. The division winner with the most points in the conference will be matched against the wild-card team with the fewest points; the division winner with the second-most points in the conference will play the wild-card team with the second-fewest points.

The teams finishing second and third in each division will play in the first round of the playoffs. The winners of each opening-round series will play for berths in the conference championship series.

The winners of the conference championships advance to the Stanley Cup Final.