Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New Jersey Devils

Toronto hosts the NHL's annual awards show

by Staff Writer / New Jersey Devils
TORONTO – The National Hockey League's best performers and brightest stars will shine at Toronto's Elgin Theatre on Thursday, June 12.  The historic theater will host the NHL's annual Awards Show to honor the exceptional performances of the 2007-08 NHL season.

Players, coaches, presenters and special guests will arrive on the red carpet beginning at 6:00 p.m. ET, followed by the live theatre show at 7:00 p.m. ET.   
Individual honors to be presented, include:  Hart Memorial Trophy (most valuable player to his team), Calder Memorial Trophy (outstanding rookie), James Norris Memorial Trophy (outstanding all-around defenseman), Vezina Trophy (outstanding goaltender), Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct), Frank J. Selke Trophy (outstanding defensive forward), Jack Adams Award (outstanding coach), Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey) and the King Clancy Memorial Trophy (leadership and humanitarian contribution to his community). 

The Lester B. Pearson Award, recognizing the “most outstanding player” during the regular season, as voted by members of the National Hockey League Players' Association will also be announced, as well as players selected to the All-Star and All-Rookie Teams.

The Awards show will be broadcast nationally in the United States on Versus starting at 8:00 p.m. local time.

Here's a look at the Devils who are among this year's finalists:


Martin BrodeurBrodeur has earned his eighth career nomination as a finalist and is in quest of his fourth career win; he captured the trophy in 2003, 2004 and 2007. Brodeur posted a 44-27-6 record with a 2.17 goals-against average, .920 save percentage and four shutouts in 2007-08, ranking among League leaders in minutes played (first, 4,635), victories (second) and goals-against average (fifth). He became just the second goaltender in NHL history to reach the 500-win mark, following Patrick Roy, and ended the season with 96 career shutouts, seven shy of all-time leader Terry Sawchuk. He extended NHL records by registering his third consecutive and seventh career 40-win season, and 10th consecutive campaign with 70-or-more games

Evgeni Nabokov of the San Jose Sharks and Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers round out this year's Vezina finalists.


John Madden – Madden is a Frank Selke Trophy finalist for the fourth time; he captured the award in 2000-01 and was runner-up in 2002-03 and 2003-04. Madden led Devils forwards in shorthanded goals (three), average ice time per game (19:26) and average shorthanded minutes per game (3:35). He ranked seventh among NHL forwards in face-offs taken with 1,463 and posted a 53.7% face-off winning percentage. The Devils posted the top defensive record in the Eastern Conference and fourth in the NHL overall with 197 goals-against.

Pavel Datsyuk and Henrik Zetterberg of the Detroit Red Wings are also finalists for this year's Selke honor.


View More