Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New Jersey Devils

Top High School Hockey Moments at Prudential Center

by Gordy Stillman / New Jersey Devils
The New Jersey Devils and Prudential Center will host the NJSIAA High School Hockey Championships on Monday March 9, as the top teams from around the Garden State try to take home the Non-Public, Public A and Public B titles. The Devils have hosted the final rounds of the tournament for 18 years, including the last seven at The Rock. Tickets to the 2015 event are available at the Prudential Center Box office. Below is a look at the recent top tournament moments from the annual competition at Prudential Center.

Morris Knolls wins the Public A tournament in 2014: Not only did Morris Knolls win the tournament, but the Golden Eagles managed to shut out opponents from the quarterfinals on to seal the title in their first appearance since 2005. In the finals, Morris Knolls started the scoring with a goal less than two minutes into the game on its way to a 3-0 win over Bridgewater-Raritan for the school’s second title.

Perseverance pays off For Morristown: Also in 2014, the Morristown Colonials earned the Public B championship in the team’s third consecutive championship appearance. Down to the final minute of regulation, with both Morristown and fifth-seeded Ramsey posting shutouts, Brian Begley put the puck past Ramsey’s Tyler Harmon for the only score of the game. The Colonials locked down the last 33 second of the game and took home the program’s first championship.

Delbarton lays it on against Don Bosco in the 2013 final: Two years ago in the Non-Public tournament, on the way to a 4-0 victory, Delbarton had an insane three-minute stretch, tallying three goals in the second period. After Don Bosco’s Robert Marsanico took a tripping penalty, the Green Wave’s Michael Gilfillan scored 19 seconds into the power play. Less than 90 seconds later, Kevin Delaney netted the second goal of the period. On another power play barely a minute later, JC MacLean, son of John MacLean, added the third and final score of the incredible run.

Delbarton takes the Triple Crown – again: New Jersey high school hockey’s Triple Crown – the Gordon Conference Regular Season, the Gordon Cup, and the NJSIAA tournament – was achieved for the first time in 50 years in 2008 by Delbarton, which repeated the feat the following season. On March 21, 2009, Green Wave defeated Christian Brothers Academy at Prudential Center to seal another 27-win season to become a rare winner of back-to-back Triple Crowns.

View Now: 2015 NJSIAA High School Hockey Tournament Results

View More