Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New Jersey Devils

This Date in Devils History: June 10

by Staff Writer / New Jersey Devils


Scott Stevens was named the 2000 Conn Smythe Trophy winner.

JUNE 10, 2000
DEVILS HOIST THE CUP ONCE MORE – Jason Arnott snapped the puck past Ed Belfour in double overtime, and on this day seven years ago, the Devils edged the Dallas Stars 2-1 in Game 6 of the Stanley Cup Final to win the second Championship in franchise history.

After trading goals in the second period, the teams played a scoreless third period and headed into the extra session knotted at 1-1.

New Jersey poured on the offense in the first overtime period, outshooting Dallas 11-1. Then, at 8:20 of the second overtime, Patrik Elias found Arnott open in front of the Stars' net for the Cup clincher.

Martin Brodeur stopped 30 Dallas shots in the contest en route to a 16-7 record in the 2000 postseason, including two shutouts and a 1.61 goals-against average.

Captain Scott Stevens, who finished the postseason with three goals and eight assists, was named the Conn Smythe Trophy winner for playoff MVP.

Be sure to check out video highlights of the 2000 Cup run on the Devils' Memorable Moments Video Countdown!


View More