Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New Jersey Devils

Landeskog wins Calder Trophy

by Staff Writer / New Jersey Devils

Left wing Gabriel Landeskog of the Colorado Avalanche has won the Calder Memorial Trophy for 2011-12, awarded "to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League."

Landeskog received 116 of 149 first-place votes and 1,383 points to edge Edmonton Oilers center Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, who was named first on 26 ballots and polled 1,001 points.

Devils center Adam Henrique finished third. He was named first on three ballots, second on 19 ballots, and third on 59 ballots, receiving 620 points. Fellow rookie Adam Larsson received one fifth-place vote.

The result was the reverse of the order of selection in the 2011 NHL Draft, which saw Nugent-Hopkins go first overall, followed by Landeskog. The last time the top two selections in an NHL Draft finished atop Calder Trophy voting the following year was in 1979, when 1978 draft picks Bobby Smith (first overall, Minnesota) and Ryan Walter (second overall, Washington) finished 1-2, respectively.

View More