Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New Jersey Devils

Henrique's OT winner puts Windsor in finals

by Staff Writer / New Jersey Devils
Henrique (l.) celebrates his OT goal with Windsor teammate Greg Nemisz.

Follow the Devils on Twitter! – Adam Henrique scored 4:31 into overtime to lift the Windsor Spitfires to a 3-2 victory over the Drummondville Voltigeurs in Friday's Memorial Cup semifinal in Rimouski, Quebec.

Windsor outshot Drummondville 45-21, finally getting the game-winner on a scramble in front of the Voltigeurs' goal with Henrique firing his third of the tournament into an open side.

The Devils' fourth pick, 82nd overall, in the 2008 Entry Draft, Henrique has three goals and four assists in five games, and is tied with teammate Taylor Hall for third in Memorial Cup scoring.

Windsor moves on to face the Kelowna Rockets (WHL) in Sunday's Memorial Cup final (4:30 p.m. ET, NHL Network). The Spitfires have won three straight since opening the tournament 0-2.

Drummondville (QMJHL) beat Windsor (OHL) in overtime in the round-robin portion of the tournament, but the Spitfires dominated play in the semifinal.

Hall and Ben Shutron scored in the first period as Windsor took a 2-0 lead. Drummondville answered with two goals in the second. Tied at 2-2 in the third period, the Spitfires outshot the Voltigeurs 16-2 before Henrique ended it in the extra session.

The 2009 tournament marks the first time since 1988 that neither of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League teams are in the final when the tournament is held in Quebec. That year, Medicine Hat beat Windsor in the Spitfires' only previous Memorial Cup appearance.

The annual Memorial Cup tournament features the three Canadian major junior championship squads and a fourth team from the host city in a round-robin format.

The teams compete in a full regular season and must win their league's title for a berth in the nine-day event.

Past winners have included Devils head coach Brent Sutter, who coached the Red Deer Rebels (WHL) to the 2001 title, and forward David Clarkson (Kitchener, 2003). Defenseman Bryce Salvador advanced to the finals with Lethbridge (WHL) in 1996-97.

Former Devils Scott Stevens (Kitchener, 1982) and Scott Niedermayer (Kamloops, 1992) have also won the coveted 91-year-old trophy.

with Canadian Press wire services

View More