Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New Jersey Devils

Devils prospects seeking 2009 Memorial Cup

by Staff Writer / New Jersey Devils – The Devils will have three prospects competing in this year’s Memorial Cup tournament, which opens Friday in Rimouski, when the host Oceanic (QMJHL) battle the Kelowna Rockets (WHL).

Patrice Cormier (New Jersey's 3rd choice, 54th overall, 2008 Entry Draft) skates for Rimouski, while the Windsor Spitfires' (OHL) roster includes Adam Henrique (4th, 82nd, 2008) and Harry Young (8th, 202nd, 2008).

Tune into NHL Network for a one-hour tournament preview beginning Friday at 6 p.m. ET, followed by live coverage of Rimouski vs. Kelowna at 7 p.m.

Saturday’s action on NHL Network features Windsor against the Drummondville Voltigeurs (QMJHL) at 4:30 p.m. Windsor takes on Rimouski Sunday at 4:30 p.m. All games will be held at Colisee de Rimouski.

Cormier and Henrique both rode career highs to successful 2008-09 campaigns.

Cormier, a native of Moncton, New Brunswick, collected 23 goals and 28 assists in 54 games, marking a 10-point improvement over his previous year’s totals. He added four goals and six assists in 13 postseason games, as seventh-seeded Rimouski came up short to top-seeded Drummondville in the QMJHL semifinals.

Henrique registered 30 goals and 33 assists in 56 games for a 19-point jump from his 2007-08 totals. The native of Brantford, Ontario, produced eight goals and nine assists for 17 points in 20 playoff contests. He helped lead the Spitfires to a five-game series win over the Brampton Battalion for their second OHL title, and first in 21 years.

Young was limited to 46 games, and recorded eight goals and four assists with his hometown Spitfires. He contributed a goal and four assists in the postseason.

The Memorial Cup, widely regarded as one of the toughest trophies to win, features the three Canadian major junior championship squads – and a fourth from the host city – in a round-robin tourney.

The four teams compete in a regular and postseason before even getting a shot at hoisting the 91-year-old trophy.

The semifinal match of the nine-day event is set for Friday, May 22, at 7 p.m. The title game will be decided the following Sunday at 4 p.m.

Past winners have included Devils head coach Brent Sutter, who coached the Red Deer Rebels (WHL) to the 2001 title, and forward David Clarkson (Kitchener, 2003). Former Devils Scott Stevens (Kitchener, 1982) and Scott Niedermayer (Kamloops, 1992) also won.
View More