Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New Jersey Devils

Devils' Duo Eyes NHL Award Trio

by Staff Writer / New Jersey Devils -
When the National Hockey League gathers in Toronto this Thursday (7:30 p.m. ET, Versus) to announce the award recipients for the 2006-07 season, Martin Brodeur and Jay Pandolfo will be poised to add potentially three more trophies to the Devils' lengthy list of league hardware.

After a record-setting season in which he won 48 games to break Bernie Parent's single-season mark, Brodeur is a finalist for his third Vezina Trophy for the league's best goaltender, and for the Hart Memorial Trophy for league MVP.

The Devils' netminder won the Vezina in both 2003 and 2004, but he has yet to capture the regular-season MVP honors in 13 NHL seasons.

Pandolfo, meanwhile, is a finalist for the Frank J. Selke Trophy awarded to the league's best defensive forward. The left wing, who was named both the Devils' Unsung Hero and Players' Player for a second straight time earlier this season, stands to become the team's second Selke winner. John Madden previously won the award in 2001.

Here's a look at the Devils' past award winners:

Jack Adams Award (Best head coach)

Jacques Lemaire (1993-94)
In his rookie season as Devils' head coach, Lemaire helped guide the team to 47 wins and 106 points – a seven-win, 19-point improvement from New Jersey's previous campaign.

Calder Memorial Trophy
(Best rookie)

Martin Brodeur (1993-94)
An injury to goaltender Peter Sidorkiewicz gave a young Brodeur the chance to slip into the backup role behind starter Chris Terreri. Brodeur alternated starts with Terreri over the first 23 games of the season before going on to tie a then-team record 11-game undefeated streak (9-0-2) from February 28-March 9.

Brodeur finished with a 27-11-8 record in 47 appearances, with three shutouts and a 2.40 goals-against average (GAA).

Scott Gomez (1999-2000)
Gomez became one of just eight players in league history to win the Stanley Cup and the Calder Trophy in the same season, and the first since 1963 (K. Douglas, Tor.). The Anchorage native finished first on New Jersey and among all NHL rookies with 57 assists and 27 power-play points, and led all rookies with 70 points.

Brodeur in 2004 with the Jennings Trophy (l.) and the Vezina.
William M. Jennings Trophy (Goaltender with fewest team goals against)

Martin Brodeur, Mike Dunham (1996-97)
Brodeur finished first in the NHL with a 1.88 GAA and 10 solo shutouts, becoming the first goalie since Bernie Parent in 1973-74 to lead the NHL with a GAA under 1.90. Brodeur also became the first netminder since Ken Dryden in 1976-77 to record 10 shutouts, as the Devils allowed a league-low 182 goals.

Along with Dunham, Brodeur recorded the Devils' second all-time team shutout (Ron Low and Glenn Resch, Dec. 4, 1983)

Brodeur (1997-98, 2002-03, 2003-04)
Brodeur picked up a second straight Jennings Trophy in 1997-98, as the Devils limited opponents to just 166 goals to edge out Dallas, which finished the regular season with 167 goals against.

The Montreal native later continued his Jennings run with another pair in 2002-03 and 2003-04. In 2003, the Devils tied Philadelphia for the fewest goals allowed with 166, and a season later, Brodeur and the Devils did it again, allowing just 164 against.

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (Dedication to hockey)

Ken Daneyko (1999-2000)
For his perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey, Daneyko was selected by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association to receive the 2000 Masterton Trophy. At the time, the veteran rearguard's 1,070 career games played was second only to Steve Yzerman's 1,256, and tied "Dano" for 11th most in league history among players who had spent their entire career with one team.

James Norris Memorial Trophy (Best defenseman)

Scott Niedermayer (2003-04)
Niedermayer's 14 goals and 40 assists in 81 games tied him for second overall in scoring among NHL defensemen, and the smooth-skating blueliner captured the Norris with his first nomination. His 54 points was tops among Devils' defenseman, and was good for third on the Devils' scoring list behind Patrik Elias and Scott Gomez.

Frank J. Selke Trophy (Best defensive forward)

John Madden (2000-01)
In just his second NHL season, Madden edged out Joe Sakic and Mike Modano for the top defensive honors with a plus-24 mark to go with 23 goals – including three shorthanded – and 15 assists in 80 games.

Vezina Trophy (Best goaltender)

Martin Brodeur (2002-03, 2003-04)
After twice finishing second in the Vezina voting, Brodeur finally secured the top goalie honor in 2003, when he finished with a league-best 41 wins and nine shutouts.

The 2004 season brought still another Vezina, as Brodeur once again led the league in wins (38) and shutouts (11), while also leading all goaltenders with 75 appearances.


View More