Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New Jersey Devils

Delbarton, Morristown, Ramsey win 2016 NJSIAA titles

by Staff Writer / New Jersey Devils

The 2016 NJSIAA High School Ice Hockey champions were crowned at The Rock on Monday.

Delbarton toppled Christian Brothers Academy, 3-1, to claim its 11th state title; Morristown blanked Randolph, 2-0, to earn its second championship in three years; and Ramsey overtook Glen Rock, 5-1, for its first victory in three consecutive trips to the Public B final.

Delbarton broke a 1-1 tie in the second period on goals 48 seconds apart by John Farinacci and Danny Farr. The win avenged the Green Wave's overtime loss to CBA in last year's Non-Public final and clinched their first tournament victory since 2013.

Non Public All-Tournament Team: Goaltender – Troy Kobryn (Jr., CBA); Defensemen – Ryan Bogan (Sr., CBA), Andrew Petrillo (Sr., Delbarton); Forwards – Danny Farr (Sr., CBA); Tyler Kobryn (Sr., Delbarton); Anthony Farinacci (Sr., Delbarton)

Morristown received goals from Jakob DeFares and Teddy Dolan and 28 saves in a shutout effort from Evan Szary. It was the first Public A title win for the Colonials, who captured the Public B bracket in 2014. Randolph came up short in its bid for a fifth championship in six years.

Public A All-Tournament Team: Goaltender – Evan Szary (So., Morristown); Defensemen – Bryan Early (Sr., Randolph), Kyle Beyer (Sr., Morristown); Forwards – Jakob DeFares (Sr., Morristown), Teddy Dolan (Sr., Morristown), Dan Janson (Sr., Randolph)

Ramsey senior forward Kyle DeBel recorded two goals in the first period en route to a four-point night (2g-2a) as the Rams ended their season with 13 straight wins. Ramsey goaltender Tyler Harmon posted 16 saves to secure the Public B title.

Public B All-Tournament Team: Goaltender – Tyler Harmon (Sr., Ramsey); Defensemen: Brandon O'Callahan (Sr., Ramsey), Thomas LaMaccia (Sr., Glen Rock); Forwards: Kyle DeBel (Sr., Ramsey), Khristian Acosta (Sr., Middletown North), Garrett Mast (Sr., Ramsey)

View More