Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New Jersey Devils

Brodeur, Pandolfo Receive NHL Award Noms

by Staff Writer / New Jersey Devils


Martin Brodeur is a finalist for the Hart and Vezina trophies, while Jay Pandolfo earned his first nomination for the Selke Trophy. – Martin Brodeur has been voted one of the finalists for both the Hart Trophy as the league's most valuable player, and the Vezina Trophy for the league's top goaltender, the NHL announced today.

Brodeur was a runner-up last season for the Vezina, an award he had previously won in both 2003 and 2004. This is Brodeur's third Hart nomination.

Jay Pandolfo received his first career nomination as a finalist for the Selke Trophy awarded each season to the league's best defensive forward. Devils' center John Madden won the award in 2001.

In March, Brodeur was voted Most Valuable Devil by his teammates. Pandolfo, meanwhile, won his fourth Unsung Hero award and was named the Devils Players' Player for a second year in a row.

The league's award winners will be announced Thursday, June 14 during the 2007 NHL Awards Television Special in Toronto.

Here are the finalists for each trophy, in alphabetical order:

Calder Memorial Trophy (outstanding rookie): Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins; Jordan Staal, Pittsburgh Penguins; Paul Stastny, Colorado Avalanche.

Frank J. Selke Trophy (outstanding defensive forward): Rod Brind'Amour, Carolina Hurricanes; Samuel Pahlsson, Anaheim Ducks; Jay Pandolfo, NEW JERSEY DEVILS

Hart Memorial Trophy (most valuable player to his team): Martin Brodeur, NEW JERSEY DEVILS; Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins; Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks.

Jack Adams Award (outstanding coach): Lindy Ruff, Buffalo Sabres; Michel Therrien, Pittsburgh Penguins; Alain Vigneault, Vancouver Canucks.

James Norris Memorial Trophy (outstanding defenseman): Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings; Scott Niedermayer, Anaheim Ducks; Chris Pronger, Anaheim Ducks.

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct): Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings; Joe Sakic, Colorado Avalanche; Martin St. Louis, Tampa Bay Lightning.

Lester B. Pearson Award (most outstanding player as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA): Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins; Vincent Lecavalier, Tampa Bay Lightning; Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks.

Vezina Trophy (outstanding goaltender): Martin Brodeur, NEW JERSEY DEVILS; Miikka Kiprusoff, Calgary Flames; Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers; Roberto Luongo, Vancouver Canucks.


View More