Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New Jersey Devils

2014 NHL Awards return to Las Vegas on June 24

by Staff Writer / New Jersey Devils

NEW YORK -- The NHL Awards™ return to Las Vegas this summer at the world-famous Encore at Wynn Las Vegas, the National Hockey League announced today. Renowned television and radio broadcaster George Stroumboulopoulos, the recently-named host of the NHL on Rogers, will host the NHL Awards, which will be held on Tuesday, June 24, at the Encore Theater. The NHL Awards will air live at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT on NBCSN in the U.S. and CBC in Canada.

When the biggest stars from the NHL® and hockey fans from around the world descend on Las Vegas in June, it will mark the fifth time the NHL has honored the best hockey players in the world and the top performances of the season in Las Vegas, the second year at Wynn Las Vegas, and the sixth year of a successful partnership with the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority (LVCVA).

A first-time host of the NHL Awards, Stroumboulopoulos, popular in Canada and the U.S. for his work as a television and radio broadcaster as well as an advocate of numerous charitable efforts, is no stranger to hockey. Beginning October 2014, the long-time NHL fan, with a particular affinity for the Montreal Canadiens, will anchor NHL coverage on Rogers, including hosting Hockey Night in Canada. Strombo also will be the studio anchor for Sunday night NHL Hometown Hockey broadcasts on City, and will host additional NHL broadcasts on Sportsnet and other Rogers networks and platforms.

Celebrating what has truly been A Season Like No Other™ with history made both on and off the ice, the 2014 NHL Awards will honor the best regular-season players in a wide range of categories, including most valuable player (Hart Trophy), outstanding goaltender (Vezina Trophy), outstanding defenseman (Norris Trophy) and outstanding rookie (Calder Trophy); the Ted Lindsay Award, which is presented annually to the "most outstanding player" in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players' Association (NHLPA) also will be awarded.

Additionally, a special announcement about the next-generation of hockey videogames from Electronic Arts will be made during the show.

Finalists for each award will be announced beginning Tuesday, April 22nd, with nominees for each award revealed daily. Following is the schedule of nominee announcements:

Tuesday, April 22
Lady Byng Trophy (player best combining sportsmanship and ability)
Finalists: Patrick Marleau, San Jose; Ryan O'Reilly, Colorado; Martin St. Louis, New York Rangers

Wednesday, April 23

Calder Trophy (top rookie)
Finalists: Tyler Johnson, Tampa Bay; Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado; Ondrej Palat, Tampa Bay

Thursday, April 24
Selke Trophy (forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game)
Finalists: Patrice Bergeron, Boston; Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles; Jonathan Toews, Chicago

Friday, April 25
Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)
Finalists: Ben Bishop, Tampa Bay; Tuukka Rask, Boston; Semyon Varlamov, Colorado

Monday, April 28
Norris Trophy (top defenseman)
Finalists: Zdeno Chara, Boston; Duncan Keith, Chicago; Shea Weber, Nashville

Tuesday, April 29
Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone
Finalists: Dustin Brown, Los Angeles; Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim; Jonathan Toews, Chicago

Wednesday, April 30
Masterton Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey)
Finalists: Jaromir Jagr, Devils; Manny Malhotra, Carolina; Dominic Moore, NY Rangers

Thursday, May 1
Hart Trophy (most valuable player to his team)
Finalists: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh; Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim; Claude Giroux, Philadelphia

Friday, May 2
NHL Foundation Player Award (community service)
Finalists: Patrice Bergeron, Boston; Brent Burns, San Jose; Duncan Keith, Chicago

Monday, May 5
Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player as voted by the players)
Finalists: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh; Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim; Claude Giroux, Philadelphia

Tuesday, May 6
Jack Adams Award (top head coach)

The winners of the NHL's regular-season statistical-based awards likewise will be recognized in Las Vegas. This season, Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby captured his second career Art Ross Trophy as the League scoring champion, Washington Capitals right wing Alex Ovechkin claimed his fourth career Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy as the League's goal-scoring leader and Los Angeles Kings goaltender Jonathan Quick won his first career William M. Jennings Trophy as the goaltender who plays at least 25 games for the club allowing the fewest goals.

View More