Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New Jersey Devils

2007 Hobey Baker Finalists Announced

by Staff Writer / New Jersey Devils


Devils defenseman Andy Greene was a 2006 Hobey Baker finalist. –
The Hobey Baker Foundation announced last week the top ten finalists for the 2007 Hobey Baker Memorial Award, honoring college hockey’s top player.

Alphabetically they are:
Drew Bagnall – St. Lawrence, D, Senior
David Brown – Notre Dame, G, Senior
John Curry – Boston University, G, Senior
Nathan Davis – Miami University, F, Junior
Ryan Duncan – University of North Dakota, F, Sophomore
Eric Ehn – U.S. Air Force Academy, F, Junior
Bobby Goepfert – St. Cloud State, G, Senior
T.J. Hensick – Michigan, F, Senior
David Jones – Dartmouth, F, Junior
Scott Parse – Nebraska-Omaha, F, Senior

The ten finalists were selected based on balloting from fans and from all 59 Division I college hockey head coaches. The final phase of voting involves the 25-member Selection Committee and an additional round of fan balloting. Criteria for the award includes: strength of character on and off the ice, displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.

The three finalists will be announced on March 28, 2007 with the Hobey Baker Award winner announced Friday, April 6, 2007 from Scottrade Center in St. Louis, during the NCAA Frozen Four tournament. 

The current Devils lineup boasts several former Hobey Baker finalists, most recently defenseman Andy Greene, who was in the running for the 2006 award.

Brian Gionta was a three-time finalist from 1999-2001, and Zach Parise was a finalist in both 2003 and 2004. John Madden and Jay Pandolfo were finalists in 1997 and 1996, respectively.

Below is a list of current and former Devils that have been Hobey Baker finalists. An asterisk denotes a year that the player won the award:

Andy Greene, D, Miami - 2006
Zach Parise, F, North Dakota - 2004, 2003
Brian Gionta, F, Boston College - 2001, 2000, 1999
Mike Mottau, D, Boston College - 2000*
Ray Giroux, D, Yale - 1998
John Madden, F, Michigan - 1997
Brendan Morrison, F, Michigan - 1997*, 1996, 1995
Jay Pandolfo, F, Boston U. - 1996
Brian Rolston
, F, Lake Superior State - 1993
Scott Pellerin, F, Maine - 1992*
Jim Dowd, F, Lake Superior State - 1991
David Emma, F, Boston College - 1991*, 1990
Joe Nieuwendyk, F, Cornell - 1987
Dan Dorion, F, Western Michigan - 1986, 1984
Chris Terreri, G, Providence - 1986
Tom Kurvers, D, Minnesota-Duluth - 1984*
Randy Velischek, D, Providence - 1983
George McPhee, F, Bowling Green -1982*
Neal Broten, F, Minnesota - 1981*



View More