Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Arizona Coyotes


by Chad Lynch / Arizona Coyotes
The 2007 Super Series between Canada and Russia began Monday morning with Team Canada capturing a 4-2 victory. 

Russia took control of the game early with goals by Vyacheslav Solodukhin and Alexander Ryabev, giving them a 2-0 lead in the first period of play.

With just over four minutes left in the opening stanza, the Canadians cut the deficit in half when Stefan Legein (drafted by Columbus, 2007) scored on a feed from Brandon Sutter (drafted by Carolina, 2007), making it a 2-1 game.  Just 41-seconds later, Team Canada struck again, this time on a penalty shot awarded to Phoenix Coyotes prospect Kyle Turris.  Turris, who was selected by the Coyotes with the third overall selection in the 2007 NHL Entry Draft, made the most of the opportunity, burying the puck past Russian goaltender Semen Varlamov (drafted by Washington, 2006) to tie the game at 2-2 heading into the first intermission.

Less than a minute into the second period, Canada took their first lead of the series when Brad Marchand (drafted by Boston, 2006) found the back of the net for his first point of the tournament.  Forwards Sam Gagner (drafted by Edmonton, 2007) and Claude Giroux (drafted by Philadelphia, 2006) recorded assists on the eventual game-wining goal.

Turris added his name to the stats sheets again at 3:35 of the second when he was called for high-sticking and assessed a two-minute minor penalty. Team Canada would go on to successfully kill off the penalty to Turris, one of 11 penalty-kills the Canadians completed in the contest.

Late in the second period, Sam Gagner added an insurance goal, giving Canada a 4-2 lead after 40 minutes of play.

In the final period, the two teams traded power plays as they combined for eight penalties (Canada: 5, Russia: 3), but neither club would be able to convert on the man-advantage as Canada held on for a 4-2 win.
The teams will return to the ice on Wednesday, at Ufa Arena in Russia for the second game of the eight game series.
View More