Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Arizona Coyotes


by Staff Writer / Arizona Coyotes

Wednesday, April 28, 2010

GLENDALE, ARIZONA --- The National Hockey League announced today that Phoenix Coyotes Head Coach Dave Tippett has been named as one of three finalists for the 2009-10 Jack Adams Award, which is presented to the head coach who has "contributed the most to his team's success." Joe Sacco of the Colorado Avalanche and Barry Trotz of the Nashville Predators were also named as finalists for the Jack Adams Award.

Members of the NHL Broadcasters' Association submitted ballots for the Jack Adams Award at the conclusion of the regular season, with the top three vote-getters designated as finalists. The winner will be announced Wednesday, June 23, during the 2010 NHL Awards that will be broadcast live from the Pearl Concert Theater inside the Palms Hotel Las Vegas on VERSUS in the United States and on CBC in Canada.

Hired nine days before the start of the regular season, Tippett led the Coyotes to the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the first time since 2002 by posting a record of 50-25-7 for 107 points. The club posted an NHL-best 28-point gain over its 2008-09 total, edging Colorado's 26-point improvement, and set franchise records for wins and points in a season, home wins (29) and longest home winning streak (10 games, Nov. 21 to Dec. 29). The Coyotes ranked third in the NHL in team defense (2.39 goals per game), up from 24th in 2008-09 (3.04), and were sixth in the League in penalty killing (84.5%).

Tippett became the 17th head coach in Coyotes/Jets franchise history when he was hired by the Club on Sept. 24, 2009 after spending the previous six seasons as head coach of the Dallas Stars. In seven seasons as an NHL head coach, Tippett has guided his teams to the playoffs six times while compiling a record of 321-181-72. During that span, Tippett has registered the second-most victories among all NHL head coaches.
View More