Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Arizona Coyotes


by Dave Vest / Arizona Coyotes
LAS VEGAS -- FYI, I will be updating this blog throughout the day today once the festivities get going at the 2010 NHL Awards at the Palms Resort Casino. Please check back for updates.

5:57 p.m.: Henrik Sedin of the Vancouver Canucks was awarded the Hart Memorial Trophy for being the most valuable player.

5:48 p.m.:
Duncan Keith of the Chicago Blackhawks was awarded the James Norris Memorial Trophy for being the outstanding all around defenseman. Next up will be the Hart Memorial Trophy, presented by Guy Lafleur.

5:41 p.m.:
Martin St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning was awarded the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy for sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct. Next up will be the James Norris Memorial Trophy, presented by Guy Lafleur.

5:25 p.m.:
Shane Doan of the Phoenix Coyotes was awarded the King Clancy Memorial Trophy for outstanding leadership. Next up will be the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, presented by Kevin Zegers and Leven Rambin.

5:12 p.m.:
Ryan Miller of the Buffalo Sabres was awarded the Vezina Trophy as the NHL's top goalie. Next up will be the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, presented by Michael Rosenbaum.

5:07 p.m.:
Dave Tippett of the Phoenix Coyotes was awarded the Jack Adams Award as the NHL's top coach. Next up will be the Vezina Trophy, presented by Jamie Kennedy, DB Sweeney and Mark Wahlberg.

4:57 p.m.:
Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals was awarded the Ted Lindsay Award as the NHLPA's most outstanding player. Next up will be the Jack Adams Award, presented by John Slattery.

4:46 p.m.:
Pavel Datsyuk of the Detroit Red Wings was awarded the Frank J. Selke Trophy as the NHL's top defensive forward. Next up will be the Ted Lindsay Award, presented by Ron MacLean and Ted Lindsay.

4:42 p.m.:
Tyler Myers of the Buffalo Sabres was awarded the Calder Memorial Trophy as the NHL's top rookie. Next up will be the Frank J. Selke Trophy, presented by Luc Robitaille and Natasha Henstridge.

4:30 p.m.:
The 2010 NHL Awards has started. It is being televised by Versus.

4:05 p.m.:
The order of presentation has been distributed to the media. First up will be the Calder Memorial Trophy, presented by Mark Wahlberg.

3:55 p.m.:
Coyotes Head Coach Dave Tippett and goalie Ilya Bryzgalov have arrived.

3:30 p.m.:
Coyotes captain Shane Doan arrived and did a red-carpet interview during which he praised teammate Paul Bissonnette for his talents as the dressing room deejay. Doan also lobbied for Head Coach Dave Tippett to win the Jack Adams Award, and for goalie Ilya Bryzgalov to win the Vezina Trophy.

3:20 p.m.:
The nominees have started to arrive at the 2010 NHL Awards, which will start at 4:30 p.m.

My father often tells me there are few guarantees in life. That concept is especially true in this town. But as I sit here inside the media workroom at the Palms Casino Resort a few hours before the 2010 NHL Awards, I can offer at least one lock for tonight’s ceremony.

First of all, I offer a spoiler alert: If you plan on watching the event live on Versus beginning at 4:30 p.m. skip the next few sentences. Here goes: Coyotes captain Shane Doan will win the King Clancy Memorial Trophy, which is given annually to the NHL player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.

Doan is a perfect choice for this award - frankly, he could win it every year. This year, the sixth-year captain was the glue and the rock inside the dressing room during what was arguably the franchise’s most challenging and difficult season. He also stood up publicly for the Phoenix area, defending it as a solid hockey market whenever the media took shots at the region where he’s played since 1996. And, as always, Doan joyfully took part in the many, many opportunities he had to connect with the fans. I could go on and on about Doan, but Coyotes fans already now what a terrific face/voice he is for this franchise.

By the way, Doan also is a finalist for the Mark Messier Leadership Award. The other finalists are Sidney Crosby and Ryan Miller. Doan would love to win this award, too, because he was a huge Mark Messier fan when he was growing up in Halkirk, Alberta.

Meanwhile, I am fully expecting Dave Tippett to win the Jack Adams Award for the the league’s best coach in 2009-10.

Hired just before the season started, Tippett led the Coyotes to a franchise record 50 wins and 107 points and their first Stanley Cup Playoffs berth since 2002. With all due respect to finalists Barry Trotz and Joe Sacco, this is a no-brainer and if Tippett doesn’t win, there is something seriously wrong with the process.

Coyotes goalie Ilya Bryzgalov had a terrific season and was clearly the team’s MVP. But he is facing tough competition tonight for the Vezina Trophy with Martin Brodeur and Ryan Miller as the other finalists. Good luck Bryz against this elite competition.

In the meantime, I thought I’d take a shot at predicting the winners of the major awards:

Hart Trophy: Alex Ovechkin, Washington
Selke Trophy: Ryan Kesler, Vancouver
Norris Trophy: Duncan Keith, Chicago
Vezina Trophy: Ryan Miller, Buffalo
Calder Trophy: Matt Duchene, Colorado
Adams Award: Dave Tippett, Phoenix

Thanks for reading.
View More