Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Arizona Coyotes


by Russell Brooks / Arizona Coyotes
Seven Coyotes will play in the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) World Championship that begins Friday in Switzerland. The annual tournament is scheduled to run until May 10, with games being staged in Berne and Zurich-Kloten.

Coyotes captain Shane Doan will wear the “C” for the third straight time for Canada. Phoenix forwards Scottie Upshall and Matthew Lombardi also will be playing for Canada.

Goalie Ilya Bryzgalov and defenseman Dmitri Kalinin will participate for Russia, which won this tournament in 2008.

Coyotes forward Mikkel Boedker and goalie Al Montoya, both rookies, are playing for Denmark and the United States, respectively.

The tournament features 16 teams that are divided into four groups:

Group A: Canada, Slovakia, Belarus and Hungary
Group B: France, Germany, Russia and Switzerland
Group C: Austria, Latvia, Sweden and United States
Group D: Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland and Norway

The tournament consists of three rounds: the Preliminary Round, the Qualifying Round, and the Playoff Round.

After playing a round-robin format, three games total, in the Preliminary Round, the top three teams in each group will advance to the Qualifying Round. The teams will then be placed into two groups, with advancing teams from Groups A and D placed in Group E, and advancing teams from Groups B and C placed in Group F. Each team is to play three games in this round, one against each of the three teams from the other group with which they have been paired. The top four teams in Groups E and F will advance to the Playoff Round.

The Playoff Round is a winner-move-on format. The Gold Medal Game is set for May 10.

Check in with on a daily basis to follow the tournament.
View More