Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Arizona Coyotes

Fans Invited to Watch Coyotes Scrimmage Tonight

by Dave Vest / Arizona Coyotes

GLENDALE -- The Coyotes will not practice on Wednesday as they did on Monday and Tuesday. Instead, they will play an intra-squad scrimmage at Arena at 6 p.m.

Photo by Norm Hall.

The public is invited to attend the scrimmage free of charge - no tickets required. Gates will open at 5 p.m. Fans are encouraged to park in Lots J or G. Free Coyote Head stickers will be given out in those lots.

With no exhibition games on the schedule this season, Coyotes Head Coach Dave Tippett has instructed his staff and the players to prepare for and treat the scrimmage as if it were an exhibition game.

“It's something that we think is important,” Tippett said. “I believe we’re going to add some more players (on Wednesday) to make it a little more realistic. We’ll have three lines on both sides and five ‘d’ on both sides, (and) we’ll have referees and try to do it as much like a game as we can to get them in that game mode.”

Asked what he’ll be looking for during the game, Tippett said: “We’ll be watching for a little bit of chemistry but we’ll also watch for pace and the details of the game.”

Tippett said the format of the game is still being decided but it likely will feature three periods that will last 15 minutes each.

UPDATE: The Coyotes on Wednesday recalled seven players from the team's affiliate in the American Hockey League to play in the scrimmage. They are: Chris Brown, Chris Conner, Brandon Gormley, Rob Klinkhammer, Brendan Shinnimin, Chris Summers and Jordan Szwarz.

Here are the rosters for tonight's scrimmage:

Red Team

26 – Steve Sullivan
11 – Martin Hanzal
17 – Radim Vrbata
49 – Alexandre Bolduc
21 – Andy Miele
18 – David Moss
37 – Raffi Torres
58 – Jordan Szwarz
14 – Chris Conner
3 – Keith Yandle
53 – Derek Morris
16 – Rostislav Klelsa
6 – David Schlemko
33 – Brandon Gormley
1 – Jason LaBarbera

White Team

28 – Lauri Korpikoski
50 – Antoine Vermette
89 – Mikkel Boedker
36 – Rob Klinkhammer
39 – Brendan Shinnimin
44 – Chris Brown
12 – Paul Bissonnette
24 – Kyle Chipchura
32 – Nick Johnson
23 – Oliver Ekman-Larsson
4 – Zbynek Michalek
2 – David Rundblad
29 – Michael Stone
20 – Chris Summers
41 – Mike Smith

View More