Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Arizona Coyotes

Doan Wins 2011-12 Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award

by Staff Writer / Arizona Coyotes


Wednesday, June 20, 2012

GLENDALE, ARIZONA --- The National Hockey League announced this evening that Coyotes captain Shane Doan is the recipient of the 2011-12 Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award, presented by Bridgestone. Doan received the award during the 2012 NHL Awards ceremony at the Encore Theater at Wynn Las Vegas.

Shane Doan

The award recognizes the individual who is a superior leader in hockey and as a contributing member of society. It honors the individual who leads by positive example through on-ice performance, motivation of team members and a dedication to community activities and charitable causes.

“I am thrilled to receive the Mark Messier Leadership Award,” said Doan. “Growing up in Alberta, I was a huge fan of Mark Messier and to receive this award from one of the greatest leaders to ever play in the NHL is a tremendous honor.”

Doan was drafted by the Winnipeg Jets in 1995 and has played all 16 of his NHL seasons with the franchise. He has served as the Coyotes’ captain since 2003 and this past season, led the team to its first division title and first appearance in the Western Conference Final in franchise history. For the past three seasons, Doan has kept his team focused upon achieving unprecedented success amid uncertainty about the club’s ownership situation. From 2009-2012, the Coyotes have gone a combined 135-78-33 under Doan’s leadership.

“It is hard to imagine a more worthy recipient of the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award than Shane Doan,” said Coyotes General Manager Don Maloney. “The leadership and inspiration he displays daily in our locker room is only exceeded by his selfless giving in our community. It’s a well-deserved honor.”

In the Arizona community, Doan has long been considered one of the most selfless professional athletes in a city that is home to four major professional sports teams. He serves as an ambassador for Coyotes Charities and works with a number of organizations including: United Blood Services, Phoenix Children’s Hospital, Phoenix Rescue Mission, Flashes of Hope and Children First Academy - a kindergarten through eighth grade school for homeless children.

Messier solicits suggestions from club and league personnel and NHL fans through in compiling a list of potential candidates. However, the selection of the three finalists and the ultimate winner is Messier’s alone. The other two finalists for the award were Los Angeles Kings forward Dustin Brown and New York Rangers forward Ryan Callahan.

Messier, a six-time Stanley Cup champion and 16-time NHL All-Star in his 25 NHL seasons, is widely viewed as one of the greatest all-time leaders in professional sports. Among his numerous hockey and humanitarian honors, one of the most special was the naming of the Mark Messier Skyway at Hackensack University Medical Center in New Jersey for his 15 years of dedication and commitment in helping to raise millions of dollars to benefit children with cancer and other serious blood disorders.

Winners of the Mark Messier Leadership Award

• 2011-12 – Shane Doan, Phoenix Coyotes
• 2010-11 – Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins
• 2009-10 – Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
• 2008-09 – Jarome Iginla, Calgary Flames
• 2007-08 – Mats Sundin, Toronto Maple Leafs
• 2006-07 – Chris Chelios, Detroit Red Wings

Related Content:

• Click here to watch Shane Doan discuss the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award
• Click here to watch Shane Doan being interviewed on the red carpet before the start of the 2012 NHL Awards

View More