Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Arizona Coyotes


by Staff Writer / Arizona Coyotes

Tuesday, November 4, 2008

GLENDALE, ARIZONA --- The National Hockey League announced today that Phoenix Coyotes’ captain Shane Doan, center Olli Jokinen and goaltender Ilya Bryzgalov have been named to the 2009 NHL All-Star Ballot. Players appearing on the ballot were selected by the NHL’s Hockey Operations Department. Doan represented the Coyotes at the 2004 NHL All-Star Game in St. Paul, Minn. while Jokinen played in the 2003 NHL All-Star Game in South Florida while with the Florida Panthers.

The 2009 NHL All-Star Game will be played at Bell Centre in Montreal on Sunday, Jan. 25. Voting opens on Wednesday, Nov. 12.

Doan is currently tied with Jokinen for the team scoring lead with 6-4-10 in nine games. The 13-year veteran has spent his entire career with the Jets/Coyotes organization and recently became the franchise’s all-time leader in game-winning goals with 41. The Halkirk, Alberta native, who registered career-highs in points (78) and assists (50) last season, ranks third in franchise history in games played (892), fourth in points (560) and assists (327) and fifth in goals (233). He is currently in his fifth season as team captain and has led the team in scoring for four consecutive seasons.

Jokinen, who was acquired in a trade with Florida on June 20, 2008, has recorded 4-6-10 in his first nine games with the Coyotes. A native of Kuopio, Finland, Jokinen is the all-time leading scorer in Panthers history (188-231-419) and spent his final four seasons in Florida as team captain. He currently owns the second-longest active consecutive games played streak in the NHL, having played in 385 straight games. In 732 career NHL games with the Kings, Islanders, Panthers and Coyotes, Jokinen has registered 212-259-471 and 737 penalty minutes (PIM).

Bryzgalov is in his second season with the Coyotes and has posted a 3-4-0 record with a 3.01 goals against average (GAA) and a .902 save percentage (SV%) in his first seven games of the 2008-09 campaign. A native of Togliatti, Russia, Bryzgalov was claimed off waivers from Anaheim by the Coyotes on Nov. 17, 2007 and went on to post a 26-22-5 record with a 2.43 GAA, a .921 SV% and three shutouts in 55 games for the Coyotes. He finished the 2007-08 season with career-highs in games played (64), wins (28) and shutouts (3) as well as career-bests in GAA (2.43) and SV% (.921). Bryzgalov won a Stanley Cup with Anaheim in 2006-07.

In a first for all major professional sports leagues, the National Hockey League will provide real-time All-Star fan balloting results online at From Nov. 12 through Jan. 2, NHL fans will be able to vote as often as they like in the XM NHL® All-Star Fan Balloting presented by 2K Sports to select the starting lineups for the 2009 NHL All-Star Game in Montreal. Fans around the world can vote online via interactive English and French ballots at Those in the U.S. and Canada also will be able to cast their votes via text message using any wireless carrier. During the voting period, real-time results will be available exclusively on This marks the third consecutive year the All-Star Balloting process is entirely digital.

Fans can vote for up to six Eastern Conference players and six Western Conference players: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender. For the first time, fans will be permitted to select as few as one player -- a balloted player or write-in -- per online ballot at or via text message. The three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender from each Conference receiving the most votes will comprise the starting lineups. Each of the 30 NHL clubs has at least two representatives on the ballot.

The NHL will promote XM NHL All-Star Fan Balloting presented by 2K Sports across its TV, print, online and wireless advertising platforms. Promotional support will be provided by the NHL Network, NHL Radio and broadcast partners VERSUS (U.S.), CBC (Canada) and RDS (Canada). Promotional materials for the campaign, in both English and French, will launch on Wednesday, Nov. 12, the first day of balloting.

View More