Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Arizona Coyotes


by Staff Writer / Arizona Coyotes

The National Hockey League announced today that Phoenix Coyotes’ captain Shane Doan and defenseman Ed Jovanovski have been named to the 2007-08 NHL All-Star Ballot. Players appearing on the ballot were selected by the NHL’s Hockey Operations Department. Doan represented the Coyotes at the 2004 NHL All-Star Game in St. Paul, Minnesota while Jovanovski took part in the 2007 NHL All-Star Game in Dallas, Texas as a member of the Coyotes.
Doan currently leads the Coyotes in scoring with 2-9-11 in 12 games. The 12-year veteran recorded his 200th NHL goal on Oct. 27, becoming the fifth player in Coyotes/Jets franchise history to reach the 200-goal plateau.  The Halkirk, Alberta native has played his entire career with the organization and ranks third in franchise history in games played (815), fifth in goals (201), fifth in assists (282) and sixth in points (483).
Jovanovski, a four-time NHL All-Star (2001, 2002, 2003, 2007), leads all Coyotes defensemen in scoring this season with 1-4-5 in 12 games.  A native of Windsor, Ontario, Jovanovski was the No. 1 overall pick in the 1994 NHL Entry and has recorded 98-253-351 and 1,161 penalty minutes in 753 career games with Florida, Vancouver and Phoenix.  
For the second consecutive season, XM/NHL-All Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports will be entirely digital.  From Nov. 13 through Jan. 2, fans around the world can “Vote Now, Vote Often” online at to select the starting lineups for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game which will be played in Atlanta on Jan. 27.  In addition, U.S. fans can also cast votes through Verizon Wireless cell phones.
The 2007-08 season marks the 20th year in which fans will determine the starting lineups for the NHL All-Star Game. Fans can vote for six Eastern Conference All-Stars and six Western Conference All-Stars: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender for each team. If a player is not listed on the ballot, a space is provided for “write-in” votes. The three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender from each Conference receiving the most votes will comprise the starting lineups. Each of the 30 NHL clubs has at least two representatives on the ballot.
View More